adventures in mom: mornings (g2)

"Good morning, merry sunshine, 
How did you wake so soon? 
You've scared the little stars away, 
And shined away the moon. 
I saw you go to sleep last night, 
Before I ceased my playing, 
How did you get way over there, 
And where have you been staying? 

"I never go to sleep, dear child, 
I just go round to see 
My little children of the East, 
Who rise and watch for me. 
I waken all the birds and bees, 
And flowers on my way, 
And now come back to see the child 
Who stayed out late to play."

My mom was the type of person who took great pleasure in waking up at 4am and enjoyed watching the sun come up over a cup of coffee.  She was the type of person who had to take a nap to be able to stay up and watch a 9:00 show all the way through. Don’t get me wrong, I do like a good sunrise… but I would prefer if I could go to bed immediately after and not wake up until PM rolled around again at the very least. I am a night owl to the core. I hate mornings, I think they are a cruel joke and I am a crotchety old grump every single friggin’ morning I have to slog my way out of bed.

Apparently, the parent to which my mom was the closest was also a morning person. This is, of course, the one I never met since they passed before I was born. I remember her siblings (she was the youngest) expressing relief when one among them finally came along who was willing to get up early and do crosswords with the early bird parent. Otherwise, the AM Parent would attempt to wake them up quietly only once. The second time it was a spray bottle filled with ice water to the feet. This was especially hated in the cold months.

The passages above are the lyrics to the a song my mother would belt out at the top of her lungs when prior attempts to roust me from my corpse-like slumber failed. Only she didn’t do this just by singing, she accompanied it by jumping on the bed as close to my head as humanly possible. The goal being to get air under my body by bouncing me hard enough, bonus points if she could bounce me out of the bed entirely.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Oness Biiig on November 21, 2014 - 10:06 am

    love the piece

    • #2 by g2 on November 21, 2014 - 3:14 pm

      Thanks! She certainly gave me great source material now I’m the one stuck playing the adult (I did say “playing” didn’t I?) and having to get my own kid out of bed. On mornings they are being especially frustrating, I crawl under their blankets and come right behind there ear and whisper “The showtimes will begin in 30 seconds. You like an off-key rendition of Whitney Houston, right?” Before I can get a good “mi, mi, mi” or throat clearing hack out, they’re gone.

  2. #3 by idioglossiablog on November 21, 2014 - 12:34 pm

    I’ve said it before and I will say it again I love this woman! My Dad use to sing the craziest song to me in the mornings. A chorus of “Lazy Mary get out of the bed we need the sheets for the table…” I sang to my children too. There’s something so lovely about this little ritual. Love this piece. (G-uno)

Leave a Reply

