on the 6th day til christmas (g2)

If you could change one thing about the holiday season this year, what would it be?

If you could keep only one thing about the holiday season this year, what would it be?

Personally, if I could change one thing, I would want all of my family to be more committed to spending it with each other if only just once a year. I have cousins and their families scattered across the states that I haven’t seen in person in over 10 years. We used to be so closed when we were kids, its sad to me.

If I could keep only one thing, well that would be the kid being with me on the holiday. We manage to have pretty content little holidays that are understated but completely wonderful. I used to regret not having many traditions but then I realized they come without trying. We make one type of ornament for our tree every year. Cinnamon clay when put in the hands of two year old all look like turds. We hang them proudly every year. My kid always does the baking for Santa’s portion. Pajama’s are the only required clothing. Driving around to see the lights is a must, most especially the annual visit to the one guy in town who synchronizes his entire yard to music. But if I had to give all of that up, as long as I had my little sidekick, it would all be great.

Yes, I’m really nosy as hell. What would yours be?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by blahpolar on December 19, 2014 - 12:22 pm

    Change: have my mother here for it.
    Keep: ditto.

    • #2 by g2 on December 22, 2014 - 9:40 pm

      When was the last one you had with your mom, BP?

  2. #4 by idioglossiablog on December 20, 2014 - 12:14 am

    If I could change one thing I would make my loved one well again. Like you I would keep my family just the way they are. 😉

    • #5 by g2 on December 22, 2014 - 9:41 pm

      It is a bit interesting that as crazy as our families sometimes are, we are hard pressed to want to change them.

Leave a Reply

