Little Man’s Super Powers (G-uno)

Little mans insight on most any subject matter is never anything less than fascinating. His super power is Autism which often masquerades the fact that he is constantly in tune with everything around him. He is the proverbial book you should not judge by the cover. His super power gives the illusion that he is some how unable to focus on anything other than whatever he is most drawn to at the moment, but I can assure you nothing could be farther from the truth!

Being his “Super Hero Activity Assistant” has been an educational experience like no other in my life. If you get past the cover on this little book you find that it is our world that is illogical not his. Holding eye contact is something that he has to constantly struggle to maintain. He once told me that he thought that it was a really bad idea to try to get kids with super powers to do this because you really don’t listen with your eyes. I explained that for those of us without a super power use our eyes to listen, and help figure out what someone who is struggling with words wants to say. His reply was then send those people to speech therapy instead of me. His logic essentially was that  we were trying to change the person who understood the purpose of having eyes and ears to pander to the way the majority of people intake communication. Nothing like being “schooled” by an eight year old, but you have to admit he had a valid point!

In my humble opinion we as a society are making a huge mistake by pandering to the majority masses. I think that it is rather arrogant to decide that the only perspective that matters is the majority rule. Not to mention the fact that we never even consider the possibility that the majority may be wrong. I feel that children/adults who have “super powers ” ( I don’t like to label characteristics I do not fully understand in a negative way, I prefer the term super power), may in fact be ahead of their time in evolutionary development! I will go further to say that certain mental conditions we label as illness may actually be the beginning of a new evolutionary development as well.

I am in no way advocating that we drop therapy, I am just trying to point out that people who have super powers are indeed given the impression by society that there is something wrong with them! I feel that being misunderstood is difficult enough, but being misunderstood with a whopping side order of something is wrong with you is not only incorrect, but a form of “stone-age” cruelty! I marvel at Little Man because deep down inside I know he feels sorry for those of us without super powers. He is forced to adapt to a world that hasn’t caught up to his intelligence level, but he seems to hold out hope that someday we will catch up. 😉

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by blahpolar on January 2, 2015 - 5:29 pm

    You’ve probably seen this before, but just in case:

    http://facevaluecomics.com

  2. #2 by idioglossiablog on January 2, 2015 - 5:46 pm

    Thanks for the link! I had not seen this before. G-uno

Leave a Reply

