Games With Total Strangers (G-uno)

Self proclaimed people watcher (S.P.P.W.), it’s one of my most favorite pastimes! To enhance this favorite pastime I partake in something I refer to as “Game With Total Strangers.” I can not actually pinpoint the age I was when I first started this little game, I can only tell you that I have been doing this for as long as I can remember.

It’s a game of observation, the object of this game is to find one or more strangers who may be currently surrounding you, and after careful observation of their particular demeanor make up a rather detailed biography of who you think they are. I was an only child until the age of eleven, so the need to find self amusement may have facilitated my need to escape the boredom of the old fashion concept that “children should be seen but not heard.”  A concept that I deplore much like “the kids table” mostly because it seems to imply that being a child is unsavory in an odd kind of way, and that being a child you couldn’t possibly have a valuable insight on any subject matter of interest to the adult world. I will save all of that for another days rant .

The brilliant part of my game in addition to being extremely humorous, was that you can play this game with as many others as you like or play by yourself with equal amusement. Over the years I have cast many a unknowing stranger into roles that would most assuredly have been surprised by, royalty, movie stars in disguise, spies, criminals on the run, the list of possible characters is deliciously long. I think some of the strangers would have gladly relinquished their lot in life in exchange for the role I had cast them into. While others would have wanted to thump my little head with dismay.

My beloved game enhanced my childhood in so many ways. Sometimes it was to escape the unbearable moments, sometimes to relieve boredom, and it was an excellent game to bring on long journeys. There were many things that I loved to play as a child that simply do not carry through as acceptable adult behavior, but I will admit to you that this is a game I still very much enjoy playing. I play this game with my husband, my children, other family members, and friends. Sometimes while standing in long lines, doctor’s waiting rooms and while traveling.

So the next time you see a child smiling, giggling, and staring in your direction (quite possibly even an adult) you might want to take a moment and imagine what role you’ve been cast into,or better yet enjoy a “game with total strangers” yourself. 😉

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by blahpolar on January 4, 2015 - 8:11 pm

    Hahahaaaa awesome, I do that too.

  2. #3 by g2 on January 6, 2015 - 6:21 pm

    Spawn and I like to find more than one person and play out their possible dialogue. This is especially easy in restaurants…. but I’m not so nice as to make them superheroes ;P

Leave a Reply

