“Warm With Generations Of Human Touch” (G-uno)

“Fewer and fewer Americans possess objects that have a patina, old furniture, grandparents’ pots and pans—the used things, warm with generations of human touch…essential to a human landscape.” Susan Sontag

Another perfect example of why we write. This is something I think about all the time. I simply love older things particularly if they belonged to someone I love or have loved. I know there are thousands of antique shops everywhere, along with many others besides myself who love older things…my point here is how Susan so exquisitely expressed her thought by her ability to carefully choose just the right wording.

I have journals fully filled with the beautifully written words of others, poems, comments, mostly quotes. If I read something that I admire, or someone says something that strikes me in a certain way I immediately write it down and later transfer it to one of my journals. The sentiment of objects being “warm with generations of human touch” was strikingly the most accurate way of describing my love of older things. A perfect wording, it was comforting to know that somewhere out there someone else understood, and shared my sentiment for the things I treasure.

The impact of great writing is boundless. When I am wandering around my home filled with used things passed onto me by others, I am somehow comforted by the warmth that these objects bring to the human landscaping of our home. I also think about the those beautifully written words. 😉

, , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

