Signs, Signs, Everywhere Signs… (G-uno)

I have the kind of relationship with the Universe that is most assuredly guided by signs! I will be the first to admit that I can be a little dense particularly when I am preoccupied with a little self adjustment, most recently pulling up my “Big Girl Pants,” a task I find to be almost as daunting as trying on Spanx for the first time. For those of you who have never experienced the trying on of “said Spanx” it’s an exercise that requires stuffing your rather fluffy, but not yet F.U.P.A. status self into an elastic garment that is so tight you risk putting out an eye should” said garment” snap during your struggle to fit inside it! If you don’t die of cardiac complications involved with the struggle, you can actually see a remarkable difference as the tortuous garment does hide a multitude of body flaws. Unfortunately I don’t posses enough vanity/attention span to commit to the possibility of looking better than I actually do.

In the case that your attention span happens to be like mine I should redirect my subject back to the original purpose of this post, which was to discuss the concept that the universe sends signs out to some of us as a way of keeping us on track as we make our way through this journey we call life. Signs come to us in a variety of ways. Sometimes another person will say something that ends up being so profoundly related to a situation you may be experiencing that you immediately recognize the message was sent for your benefit. For example In the middle of  a tyrant over my dying loved one I felt as though had encountered a masterful web of emotional manipulation. Then another Blogger posted a brilliant suggestion saying that when you encounter an emotional manipulator you should immediately disengage. The post was not written for me specifically, but it had remarkably provided me with some much-needed insight.

Another example also came from another blogger who expressed empathy for my anger (the word I had used to describe my feelings), and added the word sorrow. I instantly realized I was so focused on my anger that I hadn’t even considered that my great sorrow was equally responsible for my fueling my anger. A self-inflicted wound that I needed to address. I see both examples as signs provided by the Universe to prompt me to think about my situations from other perspectives. Perspectives that allowed me to make better decisions regarding my situation.

Last Friday I was knee-deep in plaster and dust due to the ongoing construction in our home.  My computer died, and I was unable to post until this very moment. I took this as a sign that I needed to be more attentive to the details of the construction. As it turned out I caught a couple of mistakes that would have cost us a great deal of money to correct after the fact. I know that there is also the possibility that what I view to be signs from the Universe may be nothing more than day-to-day occurrences, and yet somehow I can’t shake the feeling that by acknowledging that concept I may be tempting the Universe to drop a few more signs in my direction. 😉

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by blahpolar on January 15, 2015 - 7:55 am

    Whether they’re called ‘signs’ or ‘everyday occurrences’ doesn’t matter, I think. You sound practical about it, rather than mystical – which I think is very good. Ok that’s enough thinking, my head hurts.

Leave a Reply

