No Such Thing As A Random Question (G-uno)

The very idea that there is such a thing as a “Random Question” is like a thought-provoking bomb going off in my head. I am a true believer that there is no such thing as a random question. In fact I will take this notion one step further by saying that as soon as someone prefaces a question with that concept I know that a great deal of thought has already been given to the subject matter. I am not referring to questions like do you want cream for your coffee or mustard on your sandwich? However mundane those types of questions are they still were asked with intent to retrieve information.

I am more specifically referring to the more in-depth line of questioning posed in a matter-of-fact sort of packaging. Questions like what do you think of her outfit? What do you think he meant when he said that? I was just wondering if you considered doing this in another way? Not that it matters but…? In my crazy mind I immediately begin to wonder why the particular subject has driven the questioner to point of uncertainty, or more importantly why the questioner is so leery of letting you know that subject matter is of importance to them.

Are we afraid of being judged? Is it just a random question simply issued to hear the sound of our own voice? Does the question lead to some hidden agenda? Are you posing the question to find out if the person your asking is lying to you? Do you admire the other persons viewpoint, and seek insight to something that disturbs you? Are you just plain curious? Do you believe that the person you are questioning is unaware of your intent to retrieve information? Not that it matters, I was just wondering… πŸ˜‰

, , , ,

  1. #1 by blahpolar on January 20, 2015 - 2:52 pm

    Yes. No. I don’t know.

  2. #3 by g2 on January 21, 2015 - 2:44 pm

    I love the way BP cuts right to the heart of it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

