Prophetic Dreams Or Your Brain In Overdrive? (G-uno)

Even as a child I had dreams that did actually come true, not the one where I win the lottery, but many others did. I know that this is not just something that happens to me because I have spoken to a lot of other people who have had this happen to them as well. This is something that I wonder about a lot, it’s my nature to think things to death so bare with me here.

I know that this is a subject that people have spoken and written about for ages, and even though there are many theories about why this occurs I remain uncertain about why this happens. Luckily for me I more intrigued by the unexplainable than distraught by it. This is exactly the kind of subject matter you can’t bring up around just anyone, so that makes it perfect for our blog.

Prophetic dreams are in many ways like deja vu except that it’s a sort of a glimpse of something that has already occurred rather than something that will occur. I sometimes wonder if deja vu is a side-effect that we experience as the result from having had a prophetic dream. Maybe the feeling that you have already experienced something is because you actually had a prophetic dream that you had forgotten you had.

Still following me here or ready to walk away shaking your head because you haven’t had a enough coffee yet to deal with this kind of a subject so early in the day? The dreams that I have are very vivid. Sometimes they are about good things, but more often they dreams that show me things that I’d rather not face. It’s almost like my brain understands that I will react in a much better way if I have already faced in my dreams what I’m about to face in my reality. A kind of dry run for my emotions.

The reason I think this works is because when the bad thing actually does occur I am able to buffer the pain in some ways by letting my brain encompass the amazing thought that I already knew this was going to happen. My intrigue about having done this buffers me from the full effects of the pain the actual situation may be causing me at that time.

It’s just the kind of thing I think about. Maybe by now your wishing you had a prophetic dream of your own that warned you not to read this post or maybe deja vu  that you already did. 😉

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by g2 on February 11, 2015 - 2:38 pm

    I think most of us have these kinds of dreams. I sometimes wonder if our brains just aren’t a bit smarter than we realize and it may not be so much prophetic as it is internal math calculations of probability more advanced than we can consciously fathom. For me, I have these when someone dies, even when I have no sign they were close. I had an uncle who had a brain tumor removed, the last I saw him he’d been doing really well, a couple months later I woke up suddenly at 8:07am on a weekend, knowing he was gone. 15 minutes later, I get a call from my cousin telling me he had passed… at 8:07am that morning. Similar things have occured with my ex-spouse, grand but ironically, not my mother. :-/

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on February 11, 2015 - 2:46 pm

      Do you find your dreams comforting or disturbing? I take comfort in mine. I’m on board with our brains being so much smarter than we may be aware of the percentage we don’t use is filled with endless possibilities!

      • #3 by g2 on February 12, 2015 - 4:29 pm

        I’m very much like you on that one. I have never been one to have an “appropriate reaction” to shocking news. When the coroner called about my mother, I cussed his ass out and threatened him. I wasn’t finding his call amusing and I was sure I was getting punk’d.

        Which tells me it is very likely I had such a dream about my mom as well, but I was in such denial of accepting such an outcome it was CTRL+ALT+DELETE’d right the fuck out of my brain. She was 47 and hell on wheels, it just wasn’t an outcome I would have thought logical.

        When I got a call at work about grand, I proceeded to work like I hadn’t heard a thing. It hit me in the car later. I guess you still have to reconcile the dream with the reality. I think my response to my cousin when he called was something along the lines of… “huh.” When my sister-in-law called about my ex, I think I just said “they’re gone, aren’t they?”

        I think the preliminary warning helped to cushion it from being a massive shock, but it also makes it so I seem like I have zero emotion when I finally learn of it in the real world. I think there is that moment where you are like “I just got hit in the feels on this shit, I cannot do this again.”

        If someone is waiting for you to breakdown, they will probably be sorely disappointed, but if you’re the one having to do the shoulder duty and keeping others together, then it is indeed invaluable.

        • #4 by idioglossiablog on February 12, 2015 - 4:33 pm

          Yet another thing we share 😉 I usually don’t fall apart until after the fact. G-uno

Leave a Reply

