Little Man’s Mom (G-uno)

I heard his tiny footsteps coming down the stairs he knows today will be a different kind of day because his Mom is having surgery. He is happy to see me sitting on the couch, but immediately blurts out “My Mom is at the hospital.” I shake my head in agreement, and I tell him that Mom is going to miss him every second! “Big Brother,” and “The Baby” (otherwise known as the king) were still sleeping. I don’t tell him that everything will be okay because I try to be very careful with my words when I speak to “Little Man.” He is 8 years old, and his super power is Autism. He is very adamant about holding you accountable for your exact wording, so I have learned to choose my words carefully.

Mom is the heart of her family. I love the way she takes care of boys! She is the only female in her house with the exception of one of her dogs. Mom works a full-time job in addition to being a wife, and a special needs mother. All three of her sons attend different schools, and each one is completely different from the other. Her super power is her ability to meet everyone’s needs in a loving, and structured way. Mom has made it a priority to have a unique, and special bond with each of her boys. I am in complete awe of her stamina. I arrived at their home at 5 a.m. this morning she greeted me with a hug, and her always warm smile. I could see the fear in her eyes. Her fear is not because of her impending surgery, it is the fear of a loving mother worrying if her boys will be okay. Her surgery is of a serious nature. I personally wished that it could have been put off one more day. I have a great dislike of the month of February,so one more day would have put us into March. I know this is irrational, but still the thought lingers in my mind.

“Little Man” and I decide we should wake his brothers for breakfast together. He gets some satisfaction from the idea of waking them up in his own little unique way. He bombards each brother by pouring a bucket full of his beloved beanie babies onto their heads. All the while laughing so hard he can hardly catch his breath. “Big Brother” and “The Baby” do not find this to be funny at all. Usually “Big Brother” would react to this in a much more physical way, but today he is worried about Mom. He asks me if Mom is already in surgery. I tell him I’m not exactly sure, but I know that she is thinking of him too.

Next the boys and I go downstairs to the kitchen. Mom has set the table for each boy with a paper plate. She has written a note on each plate with a red marker. ” I Love You! Mommy.” Beneath each message she had drawn several red hearts. I couldn’t help thinking how fitting to receive little plates filled with hearts from the Mom who is the heart of this family. 😉

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by blahpolar on February 27, 2015 - 7:56 pm

    Does shaking your head in agreement mean nodding? I’ve been meaning to ask someone for a while.

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on February 28, 2015 - 6:24 pm

      It does for me. 😉

      • #3 by blahpolar on March 1, 2015 - 11:22 am

        Good to know 🙂 Brits and Saffers say nodding for agreement and shaking head for disagreement.

        • #4 by idioglossiablog on March 1, 2015 - 8:57 pm

          Interesting for sure because the way the Greeks nod for no is the way Americans nod for yes.

          • #5 by blahpolar on March 1, 2015 - 9:09 pm

            Is thumb up/down a global thing?

          • #6 by idioglossiablog on March 1, 2015 - 9:11 pm

            I never saw the Greeks give a thumbs up or down, but it’s an American favorite. We even teach it to our little ones. 😉

          • #7 by blahpolar on March 1, 2015 - 9:22 pm

            I do it a lot too.

      • #8 by blahpolar on March 1, 2015 - 1:32 pm

        Happy March, btw. Unless either of us is secretly Julius Caesar and needs to start panicking about ides etc, we should be alright.

        • #9 by idioglossiablog on March 1, 2015 - 8:56 pm

          LOL no Caesar fears here! I only beware the month of February. The ides of March I can deal with. 😉

Leave a Reply

