The Grilled Cheese Sandwich (G-uno)

Forrest Gump made an excellent point when he said “It’s funny what we remember.” Over the years our minds are flooded with events, and there are just some memories that seem to stand out more than the others. There are certain moments in life that have no real significance to anyone else, but they possess the power to transport you back to another time.

I am eleven years older than my sister, and twelve years older than my brother. My sister, and brother were only fifteen months apart. As the oldest sibling with such a huge age gap, I was in many ways like a second Mom. We have a baby brother who is actually twenty-five years younger than I am, but we will save that story for another day.

While I attended high school my two younger siblings were just three and four. I came home from school one afternoon, and decided to make myself a grilled cheese sandwich. My sister was already in the kitchen buzzing around curious to see what I was doing. I asked her if she would like a grilled cheese sandwich. She said “yes”in her very sweet little voice.

So then I went into the living room where my three-year old brother was happily playing. He was a sweet little fellow, and unlike our sister who spoke like a small adult, there were a few words he had difficulty pronouncing. For instance the word girl, would always come out sounding like grill.

While he sat there playing with his” Playschool castle” I asked him if he would like to have a grilled cheese sandwich. After careful consideration he sat down his plastic dragon. He looked up at me with his huge brown eyes, his sternly crinkled brow, and replied adamantly “No I would like a boy cheese sandwich!” πŸ˜‰

9 thoughts on “The Grilled Cheese Sandwich (G-uno)

  1. That’s so sweet! Kids are so innocent and funny. My 5 -year-old mispronounces things all the time…he’s just naturally obstinate. He argues that it’s not “belly button” but “telly button”. Great post πŸ™‚

Leave a comment