Hookers Or Newscasters? (G-uno)

Why must we be subjected to an hour of previews about some important news we need to know (this according to them of course) before we actually get to the news story? I’m not sure what genius decided that this was the best way to get viewers to watch and stay tuned, but I am sure it’s the reason I don’t watch very often!

Could it be like many writers there are only so many topics that they actually run out of news to present? I find that a little hard to believe since there are thousands (I’m sure more, just trying not to guild the lily here) of bloggers putting out every possible topic imaginable for public consumption. The majority of it quite interesting I might add. The news however chooses a few topics they think might boost their ratings, and then they subject us to one “news commercial” after another about the news they will be coming up soon.

Meanwhile those of us who have to head off to work are left with story hooks, and no actual news! I get the whole grab your interest for the story theme. This is something I try to put a lot of effort into with my posts. The difference is that after the hook I actually give you the post! Seriously after an hour of “news commercials” trying to hook us in, we end up with two minutes of subject matter! It’s as though they spent so much effort on the hooking that they actually lose interest in relaying the story!

Then when they actually do deliver more than two minutes on the subject matter it always seems to be the same story over and over. I mean no offense to any of the animal lovers out there, I myself love a great animal story, but when I have a few minutes to catch the news I don’t give a rat’s behind about the latest trends in dressing your pet! I do however care about what’s going on politically world-wide. Let me clarify here, not which politician is screwing someone other than their spouse. I am also sick of the political grandstanding, or worse yet finger-pointing. I want to hear about what has actually been accomplished. Not what someone might potentially do.

Also while we are on the subject, once again no offense to the hard-working newscasters out there, who decided it was a great idea to dress every female newscaster in matching dresses with different colors? Yes, I did see that there are slight styling differences. My problem is that we’ve managed to take grown women, and dress them up like the latest children’s doll fashion. A kind of weird uniform thing. I miss the days when Diane Sawyer sat behind the camera sharply dressed as an informative adult newscaster.

I also hate that after being taunted about receiving some useful information that I actually found of interest that I will have to stop investigate the subject further for myself. You know after all the build up we get, then one topic sentence followed by “If you would like to know more about this subject you can visit our website at blah blah blah .com.” Yet another self-advertisement disguised as the news.

Is it really too much to ask for less hooking, and more actual informative news? Quite frankly I find it insulting that public viewer is regarded as incapable of comprehending, or being interested in the news unless it’s a fluff piece delivered by some crazy dressed, giggling circus act performer.

News broadcasting stations today have incredible resources at their finger tips. They have mass viewers, and the capability of raising the I.Q. of their followers. Instead they follow a format that some marketing jackass thought up, and sold their idea to one station who was probably struggling for ratings. The next thing you know all the other stations panic that someone has a new format, and they quickly change theirs. Kudos to the marketing jackass for getting all the news stations to follow their new hooking for ratings format. Shame on the public, and the news stations for accepting this format we pass off as the news. 😉

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by blahpolar on March 22, 2015 - 5:28 pm

    When I had tv, I watched aljazeera and rt for news. Now I visit reuters.com sporadically, or just wait for someone to mention whatever is going on. I do follow SA politics pretty closely, but using local tv channels for that is just waaaaay too much bs. Now – can I interest you in this delightful gucci chihuahua handbag? Nope it isn’t for carting a genetically fucked teacup around in, it’s actually made of chihuahua. Woof.

  2. #2 by idioglossiablog on March 22, 2015 - 10:18 pm

    LOL The whole thing is just so wrong! You are however are just so right! Thanks for a great laugh, I’m painting the new addition, and life gets a little dull on the ladder. 😉

Leave a Reply

