Up On The Ladder (G-uno)

After spending the last couple of weeks up on a ladder it occurred to me that painting is the answer to slowing down an otherwise exceedingly fast life. It’s almost like the old “hall pass” that was given to students back in the day, as a kind of legitimate reason for escaping the classroom to wander around the school halls. Except in this case the ladder represents the hall pass, the classroom represents my regular life routine, and the hall-way I’ve been wandering around in is my usually in over-drive mind.

You see when you are standing on that ladder it sends out the signal that you are busy working on a project. It’s not the fun kind of project that others are anxious to join in on, so they avoid being enlisted for this rather tedious duty by either staying away from you, or by offering to do your other usual duties. The beauty in all of this is that you are getting a break from your usual routine, and some time to think about thoughts other than the kind that keep your mind in overdrive.

Some of the time I spent listening to music from the 70’s, 80’s, 90’s, and today’s more popular songs. My thoughts on that went from realizing music has left the era of trying to make everything rhyme, and has become more of an inferred subtle storytelling of sorts without all the rhyming excluding rap of course. My next thoughts were how certain songs can sort of transport you to another time in your life. Some were happy journeys back into time, while others were sad less joyful moments in time. Singing out loudly is also a one of the perks of being left alone. It’s amazing to me that I can not remember anyone’s phone number, but I can remember the words to most of the songs that were being played.

Then there were some occasions where my husband, or our kids would pop in to see how much progress was being made. Being up on the ladder seemed to draw in the more one-on-one conversations. My daughter who no longer lives at home still pops in, and out to see what the rest of us are doing. I remember staring down at her, thinking  how beautiful she looked. She is grown now, and as I listened to her conversation I realized how much smarter she is than I was at her age. She has always been an old soul. She’s confident in her choices, and lives her life without excuses. I like the woman she’s grown up to be.

My son who is our baby. This is a funny description as the baby is the tallest person in our family. He still lives at home. Well he eats, and sleeps here. He is more playful by nature than his older sister. A natural storyteller with a sharper insight into human behavior than he is willing to admit. He’s charismatic, and speaks with his smiling eyes. He is a manager in his store now so when he came home he was in his work clothes. He’s more of a jeans and T-shirt kind of guy so his work clothes make him look so much older. I also like who he’s grown up to be.

My husband would also check in to see how the painting was coming along. He is very detail orientated. It’s his nature to scan every detail of anything that’s being done. He’s the guy who can catch the slightest mistake effortlessly, but we’ve been together long enough for him to know that if you point out too many flaws you will be handed the paintbrush to fix them yourself. So he instead comes over to joke with me about my painting attire. As I look down at him from the ladder I notice that he looks pretty much the same as he did thirty-four years ago. I think that he has aged much better than I have. We have grown up together. I like who he has grown up to be.

There were a lot of other random thoughts on top of that ladder, like do you ever think about the fact that popcorn is the only thing you can hear popping in the microwave that you don’t have to run over to turn it off. I thought about how the amount of painting seemed to be increasing rather than decreasing! I thought about some of the lessons I’ve learned over the years. I thought about how quickly time has gone by. So the moral to this little story is that if you feel like life is going by too exceedingly fast, spend some time up on the ladder because it’s a great “hall pass.” 😉

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by blahpolar on March 24, 2015 - 6:49 am

    Love this post; mediation by painting.

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on March 24, 2015 - 10:24 am

      Great call! I have to say it was really relaxing 😉 G-uno

  2. #3 by g2 on March 24, 2015 - 6:05 pm

    The only time I have ever enjoyed painting is when I don’t give two shits about the aftermath and run back and forth making car noises with the roller brush.

Leave a Reply

