Your Never Too Old To Learn From Your Mom (G-uno)

As you get older you tend to forget that you can still learn some pretty valuable lessons from your Mom. My Mom is a complete trip as far as moms go. She is my second mother since the young age of eleven. My biological mother passed away right before my fifth birthday. I have been twice blessed with two extraordinary mothers. My second Mom is Asian very petite in stature, but large in character. I had confided in her a few months back that I was very annoyed, and that my husband and I had been butting heads for a couple of weeks.

She listened carefully to everything I said and replied with her usual advice “Put water on the head.” This is Mom’s standard advice to me when she feels my temper has gotten the best of me. In translation it means that when you can see someone is angry instead of arguing with them you take a softer approach. The put water on the head is her humorous way of saying when someone’s head is hot with temper cool water puts the fire out. In this particular circumstance I was quite annoyed by my husbands unwillingness to bend so my pride was in no mood to be the bigger person and “put water on the head.”

A couple of days later my Mom and sister stopped by for a visit, and the tension between my husband and I was so thick you could have cut it with a knife. We all sat at the table together to have a bite to eat. Mom who very much loves my husband sat beside him. She stared at him intently as he spoke, and then very apathetically began to rub his arm, and shoulder. In that moment her loving touch seemed to wash away his anger. My sister, and I were completely taken aback by his complete change of mood. He was suddenly calm reassured by her gentle soothing touch.

She had “put water on the head” she had chosen love, and compassion over self-righteous pride. Proving yet again your never too old to learn from your Mom. 😉

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by blahpolar on April 19, 2015 - 10:20 pm

    Awwwww …. put water on the head is such a lovely, kind concept. 🙂

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on April 20, 2015 - 12:21 am

      It is and it works to boot. 😉

      • #3 by blahpolar on April 20, 2015 - 11:33 am

        I can’t hear you, I have my head in a bucket of water.

        • #4 by idioglossiablog on April 20, 2015 - 11:39 am

          🙂 Someone ticked you off this early in the day?

          • #5 by blahpolar on April 20, 2015 - 11:41 am

            13h41 cap’n, the day is a teenager. But actually, no – it was just me attempting some levity 🙂

          • #6 by idioglossiablog on April 20, 2015 - 11:43 am

            LOL even better, and hilarious as always!

  2. #7 by g2 on April 20, 2015 - 2:05 pm

    Future book idea right here.Your mom is epic. I would say she needs to write a book, but I have a feeling she’d scoff and go work in her garden.

    • #8 by idioglossiablog on April 20, 2015 - 5:54 pm

      It would indeed, but your right she would scoff and head for the garden. G-uno

Leave a Reply

