off work on this fine memorial day, and the kid is in school – g2

So I have spent the greater part of the last week or two in the throws of allergy season and wishing all the plants getting their orgies on would just fucking die; twisting myself in strange contortions on the couch and in my bed, usually with a Mount Fuji sized mass of tissues on the floor nearby. The fact I have a birthday during this period of the year galls me to no end.

Allergies ended up turning into a sinus infection and a persistent nagging cough and chest congestion, which only increased my hatred of the mass of growing shit going on outside. The cough lingers but I finished the antibiotics yesterday and finally felt well enough to take Spawn to get a nice outfit for their upcoming graduation… its not THE graduation, but they will be going to a new school next year and some of that “everyone is a winner” bullshit still lingers.

Spawn is going through this period where most everything I say is somehow hypercritical and spiteful towards them. Having to be measured to make sure we picked the correct size was somehow turned into me paying a stranger to molest my kid. Yeah, seriously. I sat right there the whole time, nothing untouchable was touched. This was the first time they’ve even been professionally measured so therefore, I am a demon.

Salvation came when we got home with our spoils (and my wallet damn lighter) and I noticed on my calendar that I was off today….

SHIT YEAH!

Well, usually when I have off, Spawn does too… but not this time. If you ever see the villain suddenly don his Joker face and wring his hands in wicked success, you can pretty much visualize my reaction. I was Spawn-less for a fucking day!

This may not sound like a big deal to many of you, but it really is just Spawn and me. We are around one another morning, evening, weekends… very rarely are we separate. Spawn doesn’t like spending the night at other people’s houses much and rarely invites anyone over. I’m not the parent who has a couple drinks with co-workers before heading home. We have a close relationship but there is something to be said for having separation as well. When we need “me” time we have to sport headphones and usually its never in sync with the other.

So, until this afternoon:

I can go back to sleep….

I can relive Tom Cruise’s Risky Business dance scene:

or maybe this one that World of Warcraft adopted:

I have recently been made aware the organization of my kitchen is pretty much shit. I have my drinking glasses over the oven… no, I have no idea why I put them this way, I’m pretty sure that when I first moved here, it was one of those situations where the first thing that touched my hand went into the first accessible cabinet. However, I could make myself productive in this awesome time that I have to fuck off without the presence of Spawn… but it seems such a waste.

huh, and now I’m out of coffee and that is a much more pressing matter.

My playlist for today: Gnarls Barkley

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by idioglossiablog on May 25, 2015 - 2:09 pm

    Sounds like a perfect day for some “Me Time” Glad your feeling better! G-uno

Leave a Reply

