Land Of The Living (G-uno)

Making my way back to the “Land Of The Living” is like having your brain suddenly awaken to collide with your body that has seemingly been operating on auto-pilot. I don’t know about anyone else out there, but I seem to have the ability to send my physical body to attend to regular every day functions while my mind wanders off to a whole other place managing completely different matters.

I spent the entire day yesterday try to reconnect my mind with my physical being. For me that entails actually looking at life with my physical eyes rather than my thoughts. If any of this has you scratching your head, and running for that next cup of coffee to try to figure out what I’m trying to explain, you should pat yourself on the back because by this point I’m not even sure I’ve had enough coffee to describe this phenomena.

As for those of you who know exactly what I’m describing I would love to hear your explanation of this ability to emotionally/mentally leave your body in order to  attend to the more spiritual demands in your life, while your body goes through the motions of attending to the physical demands in your life. The best way I can describe this is by saying its kind of like getting in your car to drive somewhere, and all of a sudden you realize you’ve reached your destination with no recall of the actual driving process. This is an absolutely a horrifying realization when you are talking about driving, and a very enigmatic feeling when you realize you’ve been living your life on some sort of auto-pilot.

My theory is that this is some sort of coping mechanism for the events in our lives that have the potential to bring you to your proverbial knees. Maybe its some sort of hyper energy reserve that humans can draw from in order to be able to survive, while experiencing spiritual developmental growth spurts. I will have to give this a lot more thought, but not while I’m driving! 😉

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by oceanswater on July 21, 2015 - 3:27 pm

    It’s a healthy dissociation. It’s just a safe place our minds go when we need to deal with more important things. Sometimes we dissociate from horrible stuff like rape or if we’ve been seriously abused in our childhood (that is the child’s way of coping when they are too small to handle). So no matter what, it’s a safe place for the mind to go.

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on July 21, 2015 - 7:45 pm

      Thank you. Someone else made reference to that a while back. It makes perfect sense. Have you ever experienced dissociation? G-uno

      • #3 by oceanswater on July 21, 2015 - 10:19 pm

        Only when I’m driving after a hard day at work. I drive the same way every day…

Leave a Reply

