Signs From The Universe (G-uno)

I believe in signs from the universe, I always have. Since my loved one passed I have been asking him , or the universe to give me a sign. I asked for something unique so there would be no way to dismiss it as explainable coincidence. Yesterday was absolutely best day possible to get a sign. Our loved one’s funeral was two weeks ago today. As I walked around in a daze the entire day I kept searching for the sign, but there was no sign.

Yesterday our immediate family gathered to place our loved one’s ashes into his final resting place. It has been raining nonstop where we live so the funeral home set up a place under a beautiful gazebo for the family to gather. He was a Korean War Veteran so the Honor Guard’s Navy chaplain spoke of his honored service, and recited the Sailor’s Creed. We prayed. and then he was given the traditional gun salute while another soldier played Taps in the background. The flag was presented to his wife, and then we went to the grave to place his ashes.

It was a beautiful ending for his long, and brave journey. The rain began to softly sprinkle so we were all saying our goodbyes, and that’s when it happened. As we all stood there together a tiny beautiful bright green, and yellow parakeet flew up, and landed right in the middle of our group. Right in the middle of the cemetery, out of no where this little bird appears. One family member bent down, and gently scooped him up. We all stood there smiling, examining the little guy wondering where he could have come from, then the little bird decided it was time to go. It fluttered it’s tiny wings, and flew from our family members hand back to the grass.

I knew I had finally received my sign. I felt so happy in that moment. I know some of you don’t believe in signs, and that’s okay. I have enough faith for all of us. The little parakeet seemed to be there with us in the same way that our loved one would have if possible. The little bird also seemed to know when it was the time to gently say goodbye, something the rest of us seemed reluctant to do. I can’t help thinking that the message was “It’s okay now I’m free as a bird.” šŸ˜‰

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by oceanswater on July 25, 2015 - 1:51 pm

    I do believe and I do know…šŸ˜‰

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on July 25, 2015 - 1:52 pm

      Happens to me all the time. šŸ˜‰ G-uno

      • #3 by oceanswater on July 25, 2015 - 3:04 pm

        Did you know that birds bring the spirit early on after the death to mourning friends and family? Always look for a special bird. You folks got one…

        • #4 by idioglossiablog on July 25, 2015 - 8:01 pm

          I did not know that. I’ve heard that about certain butterflies. Feeling very grateful over here. šŸ™‚ G-uno

  1. Well Now The Monkees Aren’t The Only Believers (G-uno) | idioglossia: the blog

Leave a Reply

