A Frozen Fish Stick As A Pet? (G-uno)

Nothing in this world is more unpredictable, or more fascinating than the inner thoughts of a nine-year old boy with Asperger’s Autism. I had the pleasure of spending the entire day with “Little Man” yesterday because his parents were unable to stay home from work to nurse him back to health. Poor thing managed to get a stomach virus the exact same day as his third grade class orientation. As I walked through his door at 7 a.m. he came slowly around the corner in his Ninja Turtles jammies looks up at me with his sad little face, announces that he just threw up, and that today I would only be his assistant not the baby’s!

Once that matter had been cleared up, he took me by my hand over to the couch motioning me to have a seat, and then he promptly climbed onto my lap. This would not be a unusual act with most children, but its a pretty huge deal with a child who is an “Aspie.” There is a growing number of people within the Asperger’s community who refer to themselves as “Aspies.” Generally people with Asperger’s are not often comfortable with physical contact with the exception of a few people from their immediate inner circle so it’s pretty major that I have earned this status with “Little Man.”

You should also know that any interruption,or deviation from their normal routine causes a great deal of stress for them so stomach viruses that would upset anyone are a particularly huge issue for someone with Asperger’s. Not to mention all the impending changes with going into a new grade. “Little Man”s” world was spinning out of his control, and he was not about to share his assistant with that demanding assistant stealing “Baby”,or that bossy “Big Brother.”

Once this matter had been settled he relaxed a bit remaining curled up on my lap, where we discussed “Junie B.Jone’s” latest shenanigans (“Little Man” is a huge fan) of bringing a frozen fish stick to her class pet show & tell day. “Aspies” are very precise with details so the next hour I held him close listening to his entire account of why he loved that she chose to bring a frozen fish stick to class as her pet. Then after a very brief pause a huge grin comes over his face, and he says ” I sure hope we have a pet show & tell day in my new class.”   😉

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Meredith at My Pink Champagne Life on August 11, 2015 - 7:32 pm

    What a lovely day with a lovely young man!!

  2. #4 by g2 on September 2, 2015 - 3:50 pm

    I love this kid

Leave a Reply

