Family Secrets (G-uno)

I am a personal assistant so when someone hires me it’s usually because they are trying to juggle their family responsibilities along with their career responsibilities, and the demands that come with both obligations have my employers stretched almost to their breaking points. Hiring a personal assistant is an intimate decision much like choosing a nanny, or a housekeeper because you will be required to share parts of your private lives that you generally don’t share with people who are not your family,or part of your inner circle.

I have to be able to blend into the background of someone’s personal life, and find a way to help them meet all the demands in their personal lives without actually being a part of their inner circle. It’s a delicate balancing act, and I absolutely love what I do. I love order, organization, setting my own schedule (for the most part), and the satisfaction of being able to help my employers live a much less stressful existence. I have done the 9 to 5 schedule, I absolutely hated it! I prefer to be on the go, and never in the same situation day after day.

Being in the background of someone’s home life also means that you will inevitably also be privy to family secrets. For the most part it can be arguments between family members, the private, but spoken aloud commentary that is not meant for the ears of the general population. The range of issues can vary depending on each family. Addictions, alcoholism, special needs, your family may be dealing with having an aging parent who has moved in with them, so it is an incredible leap of faith for a family to have to trust a total stranger to keep the family secrets, and remain nonjudgemental about their personal lives. This is a part of my job that I take very seriously, and another great reason to have an anonymous blog. 😉

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

