I Kind Of Ruined Our Anniversary (G-uno)

After 32 years of marriage, and last year’s really harsh events I had decided to surprise my husband with weekend of romance at a secluded get-away for our anniversary. Some things are just not meant to be. I came down with a wicked stomach virus that left me hugging the throw-up can instead of my man! We are talking about a very unsexy look.  My hair pulled up in a pony tail as I proceeded to throw-up for 16 hours straight.

So instead of full body massages, walks on the beach, and romantic dinners we spent the weekend trying to hold me together. Not at all what I had envisioned for our special celebration. Instead he took care of me. He brought me ice chips, and Ginger ale. We sat quietly between my constant runs to the bathroom, and talked about the millions of moments that had been entwined into 32 years of marriage. It reminded me of something I had once seen in a movie called “How To Make An American Quilt.”

There is a scene in the movie where Winona Rider’s character is wrestling with the idea of whether she is ready to be married. The whole movie is beautifully written, and it takes you through the other characters individual experiences with their marriages. In one particular scene one of the women in her life brings out a poem that a man had written about marriage.

“Young lovers seek perfection.

Old lovers learn the art of sewing shreds together,

and of seeing beauty in a multiplicity

of patches.”

In life we have very fixed ideas of how we think things should be. Then there are those moments when the Universe sends you free-falling in another direction completely. Reminding us that beauty can be found in even the most unexpected moments. Real romance exists in the unscripted portions of our lives, we just have to be open to seeing them. 😉

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by innerdragon on August 24, 2015 - 4:28 pm

    Sorry your romantic getaway plans got dashed. But thanks for sharing the wise outlook of such changed events and of long-lived partnerships. 🙂

  2. #3 by Meredith at My Pink Champagne Life on August 25, 2015 - 3:08 am

    Beautiful post about what real love looks like:)

  3. #5 by GratuitousRex on August 26, 2015 - 2:39 am

    Wow. Yeah your anniversary went the other way. Hope you’re feeling better

    • #6 by idioglossiablog on August 26, 2015 - 3:09 pm

      Thanks! I just liked that after I wrote my post I read yours about taking care of Mona. 😉 Coincidence? G-uno

  4. #8 by Jay on August 26, 2015 - 2:42 am

    Happy anniversary. The nice thing about love is that it exists in good times and bad.
    I had a romantic getaway that went like that once. Unfortunately I’d only packed sexy lingerie, or sexy going out outfits, nothing for puking my guts out, which I had to do naked. Ugh.

    • #9 by idioglossiablog on August 26, 2015 - 3:04 pm

      Ahh you wore the sexiest outfit of all! 😉 Thank you! G-uno

  5. #10 by Diane Brennecke Christy on August 26, 2015 - 8:17 pm

    You write beautifully! This is so well-said. I’m a subscriber! Can’t wait to read more from you!

    • #11 by idioglossiablog on August 26, 2015 - 8:27 pm

      Thank you so much! Kindred spirits 😉 I am very much looking forward to your posts as well. G-uno

  6. #12 by Sarah's Attic of Treasures on August 27, 2015 - 5:43 am

    I agree with Diane, You do write “wonderfully”. Am looking forward to reading more. Hugs G-uno

    • #13 by idioglossiablog on August 27, 2015 - 12:15 pm

      Thank you! I look forward to reading more of your blog as well. You are a very talented, visiting your blog is like popping in on on a close friend. Very warm & inviting. G-uno

  7. #14 by Sarah's Attic of Treasures on August 27, 2015 - 5:44 am

    What is G-uno chat and how does it work? I haven’t done any chats. Just curious.

    • #15 by idioglossiablog on August 27, 2015 - 12:09 pm

      LOL my partner g2 (the computer savy one of our pair set that up for me), and the truth is I have not experimented with this yet. I’ve been more invested in reading as many other blogs sites as possible. We will have to work on that. 🙂 G-uno

    • #16 by g2 on September 2, 2015 - 4:38 pm

      G-uno, you would have to log into it whenever you’re perusing… but it’s sort of a trial and error thing. It should automatically go to a chatroom just for idioglossiablog. I was experimenting with more ways of interaction. I think its just a click and go deal. It shouldn’t be too hard, but if you have hiccups, let me know…

      I know I know, I’ve been a slack piece of… for you know, reasons.

      • #17 by idioglossiablog on September 2, 2015 - 4:46 pm

        LOL I really have tried, not sure what the problem is (highly suspect it’s me lol), we will have to experiment between us. 🙂 G-uno

Leave a Reply

