“Make Mom Stop!” G-uno

“Make Mom stop!”… “There she goes again, go reel her in!,”… “We don’t have time for this!”… “Oh for the love of God!”… These are the statements that my family throws out to me almost every time we venture outside of home. Perhaps g2 said it the best ” The epitome of childlike fascination with every single person on the planet.” You need to know that this little problem (for everyone else not me ) is not entirely my fault. I think there may be some type of genetic encoding involved here, even though I seem to be the only person in our family exhibiting the gene.

It’s not like it’s always me who initiates the conversations, but for whatever reason people talk to me. I love this! It is fascinating to listen to the things people feel they need to say. Yes, I know (as they impatiently point out) we need to get going, but I can not just walk away when someone is in mid sentence. Over the years some of the best stories I have ever heard were told to me by total strangers. I think people feel better when they don’t have to sugar coat, or be politically correct when they want to get something off their chest. Talking to a stranger makes them feel like they are not bound by those social requirements since they will probably never see you again.

I hold on to this practice even more so these days because with cell phones, and social media we are vastly becoming a nation of people who will now make eye contact while showing absolutely no facial expression, and simply walk away. In my day ( I like saying that 😉 ) if you were rude like that another adult would give you a little smack in the back of the head, and ask you if you had any manners.

So I’m standing my ground on this one! I will always publicly say hello to someone I have made eye contact with anywhere, anytime. Even if they choose not to respond back. I will continue to stop, and listen to someone who speaks to me. I will not give up the practice of public facial expressions. Even though the general population has replaced theirs with emojis, which I also like. 😉

In fact if my children are as smart as I like to think they are, they may consider buying me a monthly bus pass when I get older instead of sending me to adult daycare.That way I can spend my days going back and forth, from place to place doing what I love best with my laptop in hand so I can post about it later. 😉

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by g2 on September 10, 2015 - 9:55 pm

    Spawn gets irritated with me on this as well. “Why did you feel the need to chat with a person you don’t even know?!” to which I say “It’s where we all start, kidlet. There was a point when I didn’t know you either.”

    One of my favorite memories was as a foreign exchange student, staying on a little farm in Bavaria, maybe fifteen years old and barely a year of German under my belt, sitting over rum and cokes with my host grandpa listening to him talk about how he liked Americans (he didn’t speak English), as they were very nice to him when he was a PoW. The way he talked made it seem almost like he was relieved to have been captured. I had to read more of his body language than the words, but the fact I still got the jist still amazes me.

    I also agree on the facial interaction. I’m bad about having things on my mind, and many times I’m also just point blank about not being interested enough with many people to want to interact, especially in locations like… a mall (aka Hell) or mass merchandise stores (aka Also Hell)… but… I try to make a point to smile more when I can be leisurely, especially around my neighborhood. I always tell Spawn “if you want to live in a friendly neighborhood, it starts by being friendly yourself.”

    Small things can change the world.

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on September 10, 2015 - 11:15 pm

      I’m guilty of of stopping to listen any place I happen to be. 😉 It makes me sad to one of the better parts of humanity slipping away. G-uno

  2. #3 by Shivani K on September 17, 2015 - 6:35 pm

    Lovely! My mom is like that. For a 5 minute walk to the local market, it takes us 15-20 mins because she stops to talk to people she knows and people stop when they spot her and come over for a casual chat.
    In the era when time is money and all that hoopla around it, it’s nice to know such people exist (counting you in this).
    How dreadful would be a world with no real human interactions. ” Man is a social animal” they said. I wonder if that still holds true.

    Good post. Good thought!

    • #4 by idioglossiablog on September 17, 2015 - 7:43 pm

      Thank you so much. It’s definitely becoming a thing of the past. What I find so interesting is that with technology we have the capability to communicate like never before while our ability to communicate in person seems to rapidly be decreasing.
      G-uno

Leave a Reply

