Extraordinary Moments In Time (G-uno)

Since the moment I stepped out of the quicksand I have viewed the circumstances in my life through a different kind of lens. I’m wide awake now so every moment seems brighter, more focused. Some people would describe this state of being as being mindful, or perhaps living more presently in the moment. regardless of the description, I no longer see my world in the same way. I see things that have probably always been present, but they are now somehow more enhanced. I find myself being able to focus one whatever I may be experiencing without my mind racing in a hundred other directions

This morning I was with my 80 year-old client “Ellie May Clampet” who has Alzheimer’s. She is the final stages of this disease that has literally stolen her personal identity. On most days she lives in a constant state of fear, unable to recognize her family, her friends, or even vocabulary that most toddlers are able to grasp. Our morning started as it usually does with extreme confusion, fear, and me using every possible skill I have to reassure her that she is safe.

If you’ve seen the movie “Fifty First Dates” starring Adam Sandler, and Drew Barrymore then you will have an exact idea of what our mornings are like. In the movie Drew’s character goes to sleep every night, and when she wakes up she has absolutely no recall of most of the events of the previous day. Each day I have to reestablish our bond by slowly showing her that I am someone she trusts. On most days I consider just getting “Ellie May” to accept this concept in order to accomplish the most essential tasks a success.

This morning seemed to be just like every other morning, and then something amazing happened! “Ellie May” stepped out of her quicksand. It was like she had suddenly awoken, she was herself without the Alzheimer’s. She was warm, funny, and completely engaging. I spent the next hour a half listening to her chatting away about her life at the point before it had been cruelly taken away. I ended up staying almost two hours past our scheduled time together. The truth is if my next client had not been waiting for me I would have stayed even longer. I kissed “Ellie May” on her cheek explaining that I had to go to work. I thanked her for a wonderful visit.

She smiled, and took my hand sensing my apprehension over having to leave her. Then she looked me straight in the eyes, and said “It’s okay we will do this again.” I couldn’t shake the feeling that she knew she was awake, and that just like myself, for that moment in time she was seeing the world in the same way I describe seeing my world since my awakening. For reasons I can not explain the Universe let she, and I connect, both wide awake. Both of us seemingly aware of the amazing gift we were being given. I hope she was right. I hope we will do this again! šŸ˜‰

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by g2 on October 19, 2015 - 5:28 pm

    Is there any old photos or writings you can keep nearby? Something pretty far into her past? A hook, something very strong that even on the worst days if you ask “Can you tell me who that is?” She can always remember? I always had the best luck with Grand when I would talk about their oldest memories. The funny ones, the good ones, I just regurgitated the little things I remembered them telling me from their childhood and would slow walk my way to more current events. It seemed to help Grand navigate back to the Self, even though their time there got shorter and shorter.

    She sounds like a real treasure.

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on October 19, 2015 - 6:48 pm

      Great minds think alike. šŸ™‚ She’s amazing! G-uno

Leave a Reply

