Yosemite Sam Or Bugs Bunny? (G-uno)

This past week it’s been Yosemite Sam all the way for me! My angry boots have landed on some well deserving back sides even though I know I should have assumed a more well thought out Bugs Bunny like approach. I’m not sure why I’m so agitated I can only tell you that I am. I have been loud, vocal, and downright ornery! Hormones? Maybe. Lack of sleep? Definitely not helping the situation. The biggest varmint in the equation? One passive aggressive sister-in-law, and her spoiled “Bridezilla” offspring.

For those of you who might be reading a post on our blog for the first time (Welcome, and my apologies for the rant) my niece who  decided to jump in front of our daughter’s wedding by 6 short weeks has her lasso tied up in a huge knot over her cousins (one being the bride she jumped in front of, her fiance, and brother) because they will not be able to attend all of her pre-wedding events. The problem is that the 3 cousins all work weekends for a living, so they have already requested their alloted share of weekends off for their own wedding events.

My sister-in-law made a snide comment about them not being able to come, and I reminded her that it was not our choice to have the weddings 6 weeks apart.(Okay a bit bitchy on my part) This seriously ticked her off (truth hurts), and since she knows that it was not a completely thoughtful thing to do to her own niece, not to mention all the other invited family members she has decided to mess with me. Not directly of course, but with the other in-laws who all belong to the let’s hate G-uno club. A club firmly established over thirty-five years ago.

I would like to make it duly noted that my SIL (mother of “Bridezilla”) will trash these club members when she is with me, but smooches their backsides when she is with them. I remain on the most hated list because I have adopted a non-ass smooching policy, and the occasional Yosemite blast your ass one when I am caught off guard. My SIL is pretty sly, and does the passive aggressive thing in a way that our men don’t always pick up on unless it’s brought to their attention.

So her latest act of aggression was to not send an invitation to my spouse, or myself for their daughter’s engagement party. She did however sweetly send one to our children (the bride, and fiance whose wedding they jumped in front of), and our son who still lives at home with us(exact same address). She does this with every single event she hosts, and then asks for a head count for the occasion. Then I tell her we did not receive an invitation, to which she replies “Oh it must have gotten lost in the mail.”

I know in the scheme of life this is petty stuff, and usually I just ignore the silent digs.This time I just couldn’t put on my Bugs Bunny like demeanor, and casually pretend not to notice. This time I went all Yosemite Sam like, and as she told my “Bridezilla” niece who was with her when we spoke ” Oh I guess your Aunt didn’t get her invitation again, they really should get a new mailman,”  I replied by saying ” Well I hope you received the check we sent you for your engagement gift.” ( over the years I have made it a point to be pretty generous with our check gifts so I could picture both my niece, and my SIL perking up) Then in unison they both said “No we haven’t gotten a gift yet!”

To which I replied ” Hmm must be that damn mailman again!” 😉

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by blahpolar on October 8, 2015 - 10:30 pm

    You should get a new mailman? Can you order them online? The woman clearly knows things…. Either that or the silly cow is just batshit.

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on October 9, 2015 - 3:22 am

      LOL She knows her daughter is spoiled, and that she did a really rude thing. Deep down I know it embarrasses her, but she created that self centeredness so now she is trying to make me react in away that will take the spotlight off of her. Does that make sense? G-uno

  2. #3 by Jay on October 10, 2015 - 12:09 am

    They’re ridiculous. Hold your head high. Withhold your generosity!

    • #4 by idioglossiablog on October 11, 2015 - 3:26 pm

      LOL I wish I could take you to the engagement party! Thank you! G-uno

  3. #5 by jasminehoneyadams on October 12, 2015 - 7:29 pm

    That made me laugh out loud! My husband’s ex girlfriend did that same date thing – as soon as we set a date for last June (after we’d been engaged 3 years), she set hers for April (after being engaged 6 weeks), then threw money at it to make it happen. We still got 70 of the same guests (mutual friends) to come to a free picnic in a public park and spent £500 total on the whole wedding, so I think we won, regardless of whether she got the “semi-famous local band” to play her fairytale wedding or not. She bought her guests, we invited ours. This whole “outwedding each other” thing really loses its steam when one person won’t play. My only regret? I couldn’t get any helium balloons to deliver to a public park.

    • #6 by idioglossiablog on October 18, 2015 - 3:59 am

      Thanks I’m glad you got a laugh out of it. 🙂 Human beings are such strange characters. It sounds like you handled the whole thing perfectly if the absence of balloons was your only regret. I have to attend their engagement party next week so I need to get my Yosemite Sam side in check. 😉 G-uno

      • #7 by g2 on October 19, 2015 - 5:37 pm

        hey, take a play book from MIL and wear black?

        • #8 by idioglossiablog on October 19, 2015 - 6:43 pm

          Hmm… black with a hatchet behind my back. 😉 G-uno

Leave a Reply

