Bury The Hatchet? (G-uno)

Burying the hatchet? I’m having a hard time with this concept. My heart says yes, but my brain is screaming not a chance! I was on FB, and I saw a quote that said giving someone too many chances is the equivalent to giving someone the green light to continue to disrespect you. The premise being that if you keep forgiving someone for disrespecting you, they never worry about correcting the behavior because they know there will be no consequence for their behavior.

Then as I scrolled down a little further I saw the quote that said you can’t change the behavior of those around you, but you can change who you choose to be around. At this point I’m asking myself coincidence or signs from the “Universe?” I am more of a signs kind of gal πŸ˜‰ so of course I continue to scroll a little further.

Then the next quote says choosing to forgive someone does not dismiss their bad behavior, but it does allow you to free yourself from the negativity of the situation. So now I start to believe that the “Universe” has become bored with all it’s other pressing matters, and has decided that messing with my mind is just way too amusing. I know what you’re thinking G-uno is getting stoned, or drinking, I swear I am doing neither.

I was simply using FB like some “Crazy Eight Ball” asking it questions, and then scrolling for an answer. This is what happens when I’m left to my own devices to amuse myself. Β All joking aside I am trying to handle my anger from a humorous point of view. Still clinging to the notion that if you live by sword, you will die by the sword.

Then I spoke with my good friend about everything that was going through my mind, and she said with a huge mischievous grin that from where she was sitting she felt that I had two options. “One option was to bury the hatchet, ignoring the repetitive passive aggressive behaviors. The other was to expertly throw the hatchet so close to my SIL’s head that if she treated me that badly again she’d get the idea that we would be burying more than the hatchet.” Oh how I love that friend of mine! πŸ˜‰

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Brian on October 19, 2015 - 4:57 pm

    When it comes to burying the hatchet, where and how are two very important parameters.

    • #2 by g2 on October 19, 2015 - 5:58 pm

      Well said, I was vying for option 2 as well πŸ™‚

      I suppose how to handle things is just a matter of who you are and what you’re comfortable with. Mom had no problem being feared, so she was an option 2 person. I have no problem being ostracized, in my family it’s quite the compliment, so I also would lean more to option 2.

      But this is also your daughter’s situation, so it’s tricky since standing up for yourself if that may mean they come after her if they fear you.

      For your SIL, maybe informing her that your well wishes and gifts for their wedding will be located in the same place as their good will and those lost invites. Bow out. If coming across them makes you a punching bag, there’s no point in hurting yourself for it.

      As for the MIL from hell….think daughter dear might be ok with mom releasing the Kraken on her ass for a moment? That’d be a helluva wedding gift πŸ™‚

    • #3 by idioglossiablog on October 19, 2015 - 6:52 pm

      Without doubt! πŸ™‚ G-uno

  2. #4 by g2 on October 19, 2015 - 6:01 pm

    As for the facebook quotes. I have posted this one, it cleaned my feed for a couple months.pseudo bs

    • #5 by idioglossiablog on October 19, 2015 - 6:39 pm

      LOL see I love them, they are my cyber “Crazy Eight Ball” πŸ˜‰ G-uno

      • #6 by g2 on October 19, 2015 - 7:35 pm

        I think some just get crazy with it. To the point where they lose their own voice. It’s like they post so much of it they have long stopped realizing it all contradicted one another to nothing.

  3. #7 by jasminehoneyadams on October 29, 2015 - 11:19 pm

    It’s certainly a huge dilemma, and one only you can answer. I choose to interpret forgiveness as jettisoning all emotion towards a person – closing the well of energy, if that makes any sense? Pouring anger, sadness, resentment, hurt, into a hole is a waste of energy. I don’t necessarily reconcile with people who’ve wronged me repeatedly and badly, I just choose not to waste energy thinking about them or what they did. They’re nothing to me any more. It’s easier said than done, though, and sometimes the process can take years if they were particularly important to me before they hurt me.

    • #8 by idioglossiablog on October 30, 2015 - 10:24 am

      It makes perfect sense! Beautifully said! I’m not sure why this all hurts me so deeply, but it really does. I will have to work on closing this well of energy. Thank you for weighing in I love this concept! Now let’s see if I can actually do this, I may have to come to you again for some pointers. G-uno

Leave a Reply

