Well Now The Monkees Aren’t The Only Believers (G-uno)

I suspect that my daughter has always been a believer in signs somewhere deep inside. After years of living with me it’s only natural that some of it should rub off, I am a believer of “signs.” Yes, I know there are a lot of you out there who don’t, but some things in this life can not be dismissed by even the world’s biggest “Doubting Thomas.”

We lost or loved one after a long four-year struggle in July. He was not a believer in signs, but at his funeral he sent what I believe to have been one of the best signs ever sent to grieving loved ones. A beautiful green, and yellow parakeet showed up at his grave site after his internment ceremony. It landed in front of us, and even let us hold him. If your curious about that story you can read my post “Signs From The Universe.” I will try to stay on track here with today’s post. 😉

Our family surrounded our loved one as he left this world behind. It was hands down one of the most difficult moments in our lives. As we sat with him waiting for the funeral home to arrive my brother-in-law softly played quiet music that reminded him of our loved one. Then he looked up at me, and asked what my song was. Mine was “Unforgettable” by Nat King Cole. So that’s what he played. Well as a private tribute myself, and other family members post this song on FB whenever we find ourselves missing him. This song gets played a lot.

Last week my daughter who is employed by the same long-term facility that our loved one lived the last four years of his life happen to be sitting in the dinning room where she, and her grandfather sat many times together for lunch feeding another resident. Another coworker sat beside her also feeding a resident. She told me she was overwhelmed with emotion as she sat in this dinning room for the first time since his passing.

Then all of a sudden the C.D. player cut on, and the song that played was Nat King Cole’s “Unforgettable!” Our daughter who inherited her father’s “Doubting Thomas”gene found herself open to the possibility that she may share a few genes from her mother’s genetic pool. 😉

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by blahpolar on October 30, 2015 - 6:21 am

    I am a very firm sceptic, but the day after my mother died, there was this white butterfly which was a huge reminder of her. No argument with your belief in signs – I call them coincidences, but we’re talking about the same thing.

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on October 30, 2015 - 10:44 am

      LOL I get it for sure. 🙂 It defies all logic, and reason based on what I’ve been raised to believe. The only thing I can tell you for sure is that I have been surrounded by this type of coincidences/signs my entire life. So much so that I find in increasingly more difficult to dismiss. As a child I never dismissed this I just enjoyed the magic in the moments. As an adult I retain the idea that I may be wrong, but I am a believer. 😉 G-uno

  2. #3 by Jay on October 30, 2015 - 3:08 pm

    It’s nice to find comfort in stuff like that.

    • #4 by idioglossiablog on October 30, 2015 - 3:10 pm

      Have you ever experienced a sign/coincidence? G-uno

Leave a Reply

