I am Convinced That There Is A Secret She Doesn’t Want Me To Know (G-uno)

I pulled into the driveway a little leery of going inside after our last encounter. It was raining, and as I headed up the walkway to the front door I saw him staring out the front window watching me as I made my way to the front door. He isn’t like any other child I’ve ever known. His intensity is almost unnerving. Even though he could see that I was at his front door he did not leave his spot at the front window to greet me. He just stood there watching me through the large front window while the rain continued to steadily fall.

I thought about all of the comments everyone had made to me on my last post, creepy, scene from “Criminal Minds,” “The Good Son.” I thought about my daughter who said not to leave my water bottle unattended. I thought about his own comment about how his dog still liked him even though he had hurt him. For a brief moment as he, and I stared at each other through the window I thought about getting back into my car, and leaving.

Then the front door opened, and an odd-looking woman who was neither his mother, or his sister stood there looking me over almost in the same way “Frank” had been staring at me through the window. She said “He’s been waiting for you.” She picked up her bag, and left. “Frank” came around the corner still peering at me with his intense blue eyes. I said hello, he nodded then he motioned for me to follow him. Then I asked him who the woman was that had answered the door. He looked me in the eye while making a shrugging gesture. So I asked him again, this time he said “She’s my aunt.” If I didn’t know that he had been adopted that statement would have made a lot of sense. Her demeanor was equally as odd as “Frank’s.”

Then he led me to his dinning room table where he had carefully placed several objects for me to see. I was still grasping to make conversation with him about his day when he abruptly changed the subject by pointing to the first object that was on the table. I was still determined to get an answer from him about his day when he put up his small hand motioning me to stop talking. Then he said “My day was like every day. It was boring, and I really don’t want to talk any more about that, I just want to show you some things.”

So I sat down at the table, and he handed me a wooden board. It was the tray from a Mancala game. Then he told me to smell it. My normal inclination is not to smell things that 9 year-old boys tell you to smell, but this time I did. It smelled like wood. I asked him if he would like to play Mancala, to which I was again shown the hand signal to wait. He looked me in the eye, and said “No I just like to smell the wood, I think it’s Birch.”

Then he picked up a small plastic container filled with various stones inside it, amethyst, jade, onyx, agate, and his favorite was a small stone that looked like a shiny piece of gold. He told me it was not real, and that he wanted to mine for real gold. He asked me if I knew what an ingot was, and I told him I didn’t. His brow furrowed, he looked at me with disbelief, then went on to explain to me what an ingot was. Next he handed me what looked like a tiny circuit board he had removed from some electronic appliance he had smashed in the back yard. This is how he spends most of his time. He takes old appliances, and breaks them open with an anvil (his word) that he made out of a rather large rock.

I asked him who his friends were, and he told me he only had one. A girl from his class. I asked him what he liked about her, and he said he liked her because she brings him things from home that he can smash. He gave me a list of items to try to find, and bring with me the next time I come. He wants to smash things with me. Then he wants to remove the inner parts to make new inventions. He also wants to make potions, and paints from the petals of flowers.

He was very ritualistic about where, and how each item he showed me needed to be placed. He continuously smelled his treasures, and asked me to do the same. He told me that he could smell me. I did not ask him how I smelled to him. His mother called to check in saying she would be home shortly. “Frank” told her not to come too quickly because we needed more time. When he hung up he looked me directly in the eye, and instructed me not to mention our conversation to his mother. I asked him why, and he said” That she didn’t understand.”

When our time was up he asked me to remember the list for the next time when see each other. These are the items on his list-a clock with cogs & springs, a calculator, a vice, funnels, candles,an ax, beakers, and a metal mallet. Then his mother arrived. She came into the dinning room looked at the objects on the table, surveyed the rest of the room, and handed me a check. She asked me if I would be able to come again next Monday for the same amount of time. I said “yes.” Then nothing more was said, she simply walked me to the door.

As I left I looked up at the large window where “Frank” stood. He was staring at me in the exact same way he had when I arrived. Then I glanced over my shoulder at the front door, and saw his mother staring at me. I am convinced that there is a secret she doesn’t want me to know.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Polysyllabic Profundities on November 11, 2015 - 8:34 pm

    I love all things creepy (huge Dean Koontz fan) and this is right at the top of the Norman-Bates-creepy-scale!

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on November 11, 2015 - 10:32 pm

      It is a creepy mystery, and I really want to solve the case. I will also admit to you that the pay is extremely good. G-uno

  2. #5 by g2 on November 11, 2015 - 9:31 pm

    G-uno, I’m wondering if you shouldn’t establish some sort of hour-length before it’s ok for me to call the cops and notify your family after these visits with Frank. I’ve been on pins! Ironically, I feel a wee bit better than I did before, but at the same time a little more creeped out too.

    Sounds like he doesn’t relate to people at all unless he can use them as tools, but also doesn’t see any point in doing so. Though It sounds like he has at least reasoned he needs some sort of ally with his mother, and he’s hoping to groom you into that.

    I don’t even have a problem so much with the whole smashing thing, nor the fascination with nature and all its elements. I wonder about the poor dog though. Would he be the kid would thrive on getting a robotics kit, or would he be the kid to dump it in the floor and start hammering it. Does he want to invent, or does he just want to destroy?

    Is this kid in any kind of therapy? I agree, the mom is hiding quite a lot I bet.

    I cannot BELIEVE you didn’t know what an ingot was… its like you don’t even KNOW me! Sheesh ;P He play video games?

    • #6 by idioglossiablog on November 11, 2015 - 10:49 pm

      g2 I have no answers to any of your questions, but I fully intend to find out.Rest at ease that my family knows where I will be, and the hours I will be there. 😉 I have truly never met a child I couldn’t figure out before so this a whole new experience for me. LOL sorry about the whole ingot thing my gaming knowledge ranks right up there with my computer knowledge.:) You know me, when it comes to the very old, and the young I am usually in my element. This time I am stumped by both the mother, and the boy. I did pay attention to how the dogs are around him. They don’t seem frightened, but they seem to keep their distance. I can not figure out the “smelling thing” either. I know the mom is hiding something. It’s almost like she’s sitting back to see how this all goes with “Frank” and I.

      • #7 by g2 on November 12, 2015 - 2:53 pm

        I agree about the mom, but then not sitting back and letting things run their course could potentially bias your opinion against something she finds enormous but you would have otherwise not noticed.

        As to the smelling… some kids are super tactile, this one’s happy place is smelling, it may be just that.

        I guess I’m just glad that his desire for smashing is limited to “things” and not say… animals. He could just be the next trash pop artist who bases his choices solely on smell. That’s what I’m hoping for anyway.

        • #8 by idioglossiablog on November 12, 2015 - 3:52 pm

          I’m open minded until give solid evidence to the contrary. 😉 Wouldn’t it be so awesome if differences turned into something spectacular like that! I’m going to remain on the cautious side, but I have to admit I really want to solve this little mystery. Maybe watching too much Scooby Doo has something to do with my curiosity. 😉 G-uno

  3. #9 by Brian on November 12, 2015 - 6:44 pm

    He seems a lot less creepy after this visit. Odd still, but less creepy for certain. A little OCD, trouble relating to people, seemingly not caring for what they want or need, only in using them.

    He says he wants to make new inventions out of what he’s smashed. So he regards inanimate objects the same as he does people – as tools. Wonder if you could get him to ‘disassemble’ things rather than smash them? And I would certainly find a way to have trouble digging up an ax and a metal mallet. I know he’s only 9, but an ax?

    • #10 by idioglossiablog on November 12, 2015 - 8:24 pm

      Thanks I felt a little less creeped out, but i didn’t leave my open water bottle unattended. 😉 It’s so funny that you mentioned disassembling things, because I aske my husband for some basic tools (No ax or mallet) thinking that would be a much better way to go. It will be interesting to see if he will have any interest in learning how to use them. You also make an excellent point about his inability to view people as people. I will have to work on that side of things as well. I go back next Monday so I will give it all a try. Thanks again for weighing in on my little mystery. G-uno

      • #11 by Brian on November 13, 2015 - 4:00 am

        It’s an interesting interaction to watch. I’d wonder if he’s somewhere on the Autism spectrum – but then there’s whatever the mother is holding back. Wonder when she’ll fess up?

        • #12 by idioglossiablog on November 13, 2015 - 11:29 am

          It does fascinate me. I think you’ve got something there with the Autism spectrum. Mom is a complete mystery to me. I know you have to be cautious, but I have always been very curious when it comes to mysterious behavior. G-uno

  4. #13 by jasminehoneyadams on November 18, 2015 - 9:46 am

    I missed this post when it came out, but you have got the beginnings of a very dark horror story here! I’m not sure I’d keep going back, but is it the mother or the child that is the issue? It’s the big guns, but aside from the autism spec (which has already been mentioned) he could have psychopathic personality disorder (they go in for the extreme control thing which can look like autism) I’ve only seen it in a child once, in four years of teaching, but it was unnerving working with this child for a year. They spoke like an adult and their words were always very carefully chosen, they were always watching for the reaction of the person they were interacting with, and you felt like they were filing that information away for future use. Obviously without actually meeting/talking to him this is pure speculation and PPD is very rare.

    • #14 by g2 on November 18, 2015 - 5:44 pm

      you know, I had been wondering the same thing. Like if G-uno kind of let it flow into the conversation of “I was really sad this one time when I was your age… Has something ever made you really sad?”, “If the dog were mean to you, would you love him too in spite of it?”… you know, empathic questions a psych… well, I guess a sociopath actually (psychs have paranoia and other features) would not understand since they contain an emotional aspect.

      • #15 by jasminehoneyadams on November 18, 2015 - 7:22 pm

        Yeah, that would definitely be an eye-opening conversation… might pinpoint what was actually going on inside his world. I’m so curious now, I don’t even know this poor boy!

        • #16 by idioglossiablog on November 18, 2015 - 7:29 pm

          LOL your just like me! I am just compelled to figure this out.I think I will have the conversation just to see his response. G-uno

    • #17 by idioglossiablog on November 18, 2015 - 7:19 pm

      Well that just gave me the chills. I really don’t know which one is the issue here. Mom did cancel this past Monday’s appointment with me. My brother is Autistic, but this doesn’t look like the same thing to me. As most of us know the spectrum is vast & varied. “Frank” absolutely has a very adult like way of speaking, and your right about the wording being carefully chosen. I just can’t get past the fact that he’s only 9. Thanks for weighing in on this I should probably be researching PPD. G-uno

      • #18 by jasminehoneyadams on November 18, 2015 - 7:28 pm

        Or as G-2 says, sociopathy? I hope you get to the bottom of it! I wonder if there’s something going on with the mother or if she knows what the son’s like and scared of people finding out/labelling/stigmatizing him?

        • #19 by idioglossiablog on November 18, 2015 - 7:31 pm

          That’s an excellent point! She never really discusses him with me other than just timing. G-uno

          • #20 by jasminehoneyadams on November 18, 2015 - 7:36 pm

            Very interesting… I await the next installment (this of course is where she cancels unexpectedly and we never find out anything more)!

          • #21 by idioglossiablog on November 18, 2015 - 7:38 pm

            If that happens I will take it as a sign from the “Universe.” 😉 G-uno

Leave a Reply

