After 3o+ Years Of Marriage He Wants A Break (G-uno)

Does love just die, or fade away? Is there some kind of hidden expiration date on marriages that the general population is not privy to? Maybe because I’m now in my fifties I am more aware of the really high divorce rate among people of our age group who have been married longer than three decades.

The only thing I am certain of is the fact that my dear friend is completely devastated! I am heartbroken for her. I suspected that there were some rough patches in their relationship because of the whole “Stripper pole” thing, but I really didn’t over focus on that because all marriages have their moments of discord. I wish I could tell you that her husband is a total jerk, but he isn’t. He’s actually a kind, intelligent human, being with a big heart.

So what happened? I’m so shocked I’m not sure how to help her through whatever this may be. I just need to be able to get her through this evening.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rita on November 20, 2015 - 9:58 pm

    It is so very hard to understand but it is happening more and more. All you can really do is be there. My hugs for your dear friend.

    • #2 by Rita on November 20, 2015 - 10:00 pm

      I don’t know how I replied as you but that’s kinda freaky!

      • #3 by idioglossiablog on November 20, 2015 - 10:06 pm

        It came up as you on my page. G-uno

        • #4 by Rita on November 20, 2015 - 10:10 pm

          Okee dokee! I’m sorry for your friend. Let’s hope its only a hiccup.

          • #5 by idioglossiablog on November 20, 2015 - 10:16 pm

            I really hope so, but he is staying in their vacation house instead of their home. 😦 G-uno

          • #6 by Rita on November 20, 2015 - 10:19 pm

            Hugs

    • #7 by idioglossiablog on November 20, 2015 - 10:05 pm

      Thank you Rita G-uno

  2. #8 by innerdragon on November 20, 2015 - 10:11 pm

    That is so sad. It sounds like she was willing to try most anything to make things work…

    • #9 by idioglossiablog on November 20, 2015 - 10:18 pm

      They are just the best couple! I am completely in shock. 😦 G-uno

      • #10 by oceanswater on November 21, 2015 - 4:01 am

        Unfortunately G-uno, we never really know what goes on behind people’s closed doors. We think everything is fine because that is what we seem but only the couple knows what’s really going on and it does take two.

        • #11 by idioglossiablog on November 21, 2015 - 1:27 pm

          That’s very often true, but in this case she doesn’t know either. G-uno

  3. #12 by ismeisreallyme on November 21, 2015 - 12:45 am

    Be there for her and if you can for him. Sometimes, these wake up calls that we go through as individuals, sadly impact others around us. She will need someone that can support her through her 5 stages of grief, especially as she cycles through and back a few of them. Sending positive thoughts and energy.

    • #13 by idioglossiablog on November 21, 2015 - 1:31 pm

      She is so hurt. It’s actually physically painful to watch her. I just got home a couple of hours ago. Her daughters will be arriving this afternoon for Thanksgiving. G-uno

  4. #14 by blahpolar on November 21, 2015 - 6:04 am

    Sad 😦

    • #15 by idioglossiablog on November 21, 2015 - 1:25 pm

      It just doesn’t make sense. How are you? Iv’e been thinking about you.
      G-uno

  5. #16 by Polysyllabic Profundities on November 21, 2015 - 4:04 pm

    I wish you both the strength to get through this.

    • #17 by Polysyllabic Profundities on November 21, 2015 - 4:05 pm

      I should have been more specific but I’m sure you understood I meant strength for her to get through this and strength for you to continue to be there for her. xx

  6. #19 by elementhealing on November 21, 2015 - 10:14 pm

    That is so sad. I hope that they can work through whatever the issue is.

Leave a Reply

