Mysterious Frank (G-uno)

Going to Frank’s door never gets any less creepy. He sees me as I’m getting out of my car, but remains standing at the front window watching me make my way to his front door. I smile, and wave. He stands, and stares. Mom also stands at the front door looking through the window. I know that she clearly sees me, but she never opens the door until I actually knock. Yep you read that right we are face to face through the glass on the front door looking at one another, but still I have to knock before she will open the door.
As I speak with mom about what my plans are for our time together Frank wanders up giving her the your excused look. Without any further conversation she walks away picks up her purse, and  leaves. So I say hello, he immediately wants to know what I have in my bag. I smile, then I ask if I can get a hello. He stares up at me for a moment almost like he’s trying to decide whether or not to say hello, then finally says hello.
He asked me if I had gotten everything on the list we made together. I told him no not all of it, but I did come with all the supplies so we could start working on our potions. He then asks me why I hadn’t gotten the other things on the list. I smile again, and tell him that Rome wasn’t built in a day. He replies that since his mother canceled our last two visits I should have had enough time to shop.
Now I am slightly annoyed so I tell him that we will not be buying everything on the list, and that he should look forward to being surprised each visit to see what I will be bringing. He was surprised by my stern tone, and did not continue to push the subject. I then brought out 9 tiny clear containers, each one contained a tablespoon of spice. Various colors, textures, and all of them deeply aromatic. Trying to appeal to his desire to make potions, and his need to smell everything.
He wanted to make potions that did stuff to people. I told him as a scientist he had a responsibility to invent potions to better mankind. We explored all the scents, textures, and finally tastes. I brought him a book on healing spices so he could see that this wasn’t baby stuff. I even brought additional potion containers so he could mix any combination of spices he wanted to mix. We even made scented cards. Then his mother arrived so we cleaned up. I was feeling pretty confident about my ability to take his mind off his usual focus. Then as I was walking out the door he looks up at me, and says next time bring the ax.

 

 

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Polysyllabic Profundities on November 30, 2015 - 8:44 pm

    This is making me very glad I don’t have children. :O

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on December 1, 2015 - 4:27 pm

      LOL I work with a lot of special needs children. They all have certain qualities that seem define them, but Frank is a real first for me. 😉 G-uno

  2. #4 by g2 on November 30, 2015 - 9:43 pm

    this kid…. wonder if this early in the game if it would be completely wrong to say “are you batshit insane? there’s no fucking way I’d give you an ax of all things!”

    I suppose the more diplomatic way would be “If you really want to understand how things work by taking them apart, you need to learn to do so without destroying them, since destroying them won’t clarify anything other than the parts that used to function. May I direct your attention to the screwdriver?”….

    • #5 by idioglossiablog on December 1, 2015 - 4:24 pm

      LOL I was at least pleased that he accepted my version of making potions. Although my tone of voice may have been the top persuader in that scenario. 😉 He has my full interest that’s for sure. G-uno

  3. #6 by Rita on December 1, 2015 - 4:10 am

    I think I saw this once in a movie a very long time ago only it was little girl.

  4. #7 by Brian on December 1, 2015 - 5:35 pm

    Still sounds like the back story to a Criminal Minds episode . . .

    • #8 by idioglossiablog on December 3, 2015 - 5:39 pm

      Something else that’s intriguing is the fact that their strangeness is not genetic. Frank is adopted. Maybe nurture over nature. G-uno

Leave a Reply

