Walking The Tight Rope

Having a front row seat to your friend’s 30+ year marriage falling apart before your very eyes has been absolutely brutal to say the least. All of us have been existing in the “Twilight Zone” since our very close friend’s hubby dropped the bomb that he was moving out right before Thanksgiving. My emotions have been all over the place. Watching someone you love go through something so hurtful can really put your problems into proper perspective.
Finding a balance between supporting your friend, while maintaining your own life is a bit like walking the tight rope, balance is key. I have to tell you that I have not sent a single card, pulled out my menorah, or put up a tree. There isn’t a single indication that we are all smack dab in to the middle of the holiday season. Luckily my family understands my love for my friends. They also know I have a hard time being happy when someone I love is in such an unhappy place.
I struggle with remembering that other parts of my life need my attention as well. Mr. G-uno was raised right! He does not complain when the things I usually do are left undone, or the fact that between being a support for my friend, and working my job have kept me away for long periods of time. I took a look at our humble mess, as well as the calendar,and have come to the conclusion that I need to show some gratitude for all of his support without a single complaint. He has had a pretty tough year himself. He lost his father just 5 short months ago, and is tackling a a pretty major health issue himself.
So today I turned off my phone, my computer , and plugged fully into our life. We took the day off from saving the world to remember that our lives needed some attention. We slept in, and as I awoke I watched him as he slept. I thought about how no one is exempt from the possibility of having their lives turned completely upside down. Then I rolled over, and made love to my husband like there would not be a tomorrow.
The house remains undecorated. I have not shopped for a single gift, or filled out a single card. I did not clean up our home. Today I watched movies, drank coffee, cooked for my guys, and spent most of the day next to Mr. G-uno’s side. I am actually blogging beside him as he sleeps which brings me right back to the same moment when I awoke this morning. Today I managed to walk perfectly across that “Tight Rope.” πŸ˜‰

 

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by oceanswater on December 14, 2015 - 4:55 am

    Very nice❀️❀️

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on December 14, 2015 - 10:28 am

      It really was. πŸ˜‰ G-uno

      • #3 by oceanswater on December 14, 2015 - 3:19 pm

        nice when your spouse doesn’t think sex and lovemaking went out with the Dinosaurs

  2. #4 by Rita on December 14, 2015 - 5:03 am

    Great big hug to you!!!! I’m so sorry one you love is in such pain and wish for you continued strength as the caretaker needs some back up too ❀

    • #5 by idioglossiablog on December 14, 2015 - 10:27 am

      Balance has never been my forte’ in this area, but I’m working on that side of myself. Thank you for your support πŸ™‚ G-uno

      • #6 by Rita on December 14, 2015 - 11:59 am

        You’re doing GREAT. Just remember to BREATHE! I forget that sometimes.

  3. #8 by emmagc75 on December 14, 2015 - 6:02 am

    Good for you! Sounds like a pretty friggin perfect day to me lol. Hugs xo.

  4. #12 by La Sabrosona on December 14, 2015 - 11:36 am

    Balancing life is hard. Bless you for being such a loving friend and I’m happy you spent quality time with hubby πŸ™‚

  5. #14 by Polysyllabic Profundities on December 14, 2015 - 4:53 pm

    It’s nice to read happy stories. πŸ™‚

  6. #15 by Brian on December 14, 2015 - 5:44 pm

    The whole day sounds like a bowl of tomato soup and a grilled cheese sandwich. Nothing more comforting than that!

    • #16 by g2 on December 14, 2015 - 6:22 pm

      lawd, you speak truth, mah brutha.

Leave a Reply

