2015 The Good, The Bad, And The Ugly (G-uno)

My Sister, and I are extremely close. She knows me in the way that only a person who has shared the same childhood can know you. Our childhood like so many of others out there was not the childhood famously captured in a Norman Rockwell painting. Ours was filled with dark secrets of violence, abuse, and scattered moments of average family life. There was love, closeness, and some extremely happy times, but the darkness always held the power to overshadow all of that with very little warning. Every year we share the tradition of spending New Years Eve together.
New Years Eve happens to be Mr G-uno’s birthday. He, and the little G-unos are camping deep in the woods which is their tradition. I don’t have an ounce of pioneer blood coursing through my veins. They will ride their dirt bikes, shoot their guns, and sit around campfires with a few others who share their love of camping.
My sister, and I will have a quiet dinner together. Then we will make our way to curl up on the couch in our jamies to begin our own personal recall of the past year. We usually give the passing year an overname. I plan to dub 2015 “The Year of Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride.” For me the year has absolutely been a wild ride. I’ve been hired, and fired! I’ve lost loved ones, and welcomed new ones. I had a front row seat to engagements, and weddings. I’ve also see longtime marriages come to a bitter end.
I have experienced great love, and extraordinary moments of happiness. I have also seen sickness, and great depression. It’s been a wild ride for sure. We have endured the good, the bad, and a great deal of ugly, and in spite of it all I feel like the good has significantly outweighed the bad. My sister would probably tell you that seeing the good over the bad has been my personal survival tactic from very early on in this life. She’s a very reliable source, but I prefer to let the good things in my life prevail over the bad things. There is always so much to be grateful for.
I hope the New Year will bring you all the very best!  If it does bring you some of the bad, or the more difficult things in life, my wish is that you learn from the things that you encounter, and always know we are all in this together. Happy New Year!   P.S. I can’t wait to hear my sister’s overname for this year. 😉
, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by oceanswater on December 31, 2015 - 8:30 pm

    Well my sister and I never did that, but we did have many great times… memories I shall never forget. Have a great time with your sis tonight and enjoy every moment of thoughts of times now past. I wish you the happiest of New Year 2016! With much Love!

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on December 31, 2015 - 8:37 pm

      I will remember to light a candle for your sister. I know this year has brought you more than your share of the bad, and the ugly. I also know that you embrace all the good that has come your way. It’s completely been my pleasure to have shared so many thoughts with you this past year! Happiest New year to you! With much love, and respect! G-uno

  2. #4 by KcRambles on December 31, 2015 - 9:06 pm

    Enjoy your evening with your sister. Happy New Years!

    • #5 by idioglossiablog on December 31, 2015 - 9:07 pm

      Thank you! She should be the one writing the blog. 😉

  3. #6 by Rita on January 1, 2016 - 2:26 am

    Oh my new friend, I love that you let the good outweigh the bad! I wish a Happy New Year ❤

    • #7 by idioglossiablog on January 1, 2016 - 2:39 am

      Happy New Year! You are so on my good list! ox G-uno

      • #8 by Rita on January 1, 2016 - 3:22 am

        Damn girl! You need a new list (LOL)

Leave a Reply

