Details From The Big Date (G-uno)

The Chemistry was there from the moment she walked into the room, and their eyes locked on one another. Over thirty years have passed by, and the truth is that no matter how high you pull up your “big girl pants” some wounds are harder to heal than you might imagine. Her first date nervousness went from excitement to” what the fuck am I doing” before they even pulled out of the driveway. Jane told me that all of a sudden she could feel the heat in her face. She did everything she could to hold back her tears, but without her permission the streaming flow of tears began to pour down her cheeks.
He stopped the car, turned off the engine, and moved over next to her. She was beyond embarrassed, but still the tears flowed. He put his arm around her, and sat there with her until the last tear streamed down her cheek. Jane told me to try to picture her swollen eyes, make-up running down her face, and a nose full of snot. I could feel my heart sink as she continued to describe the scene in her car. I asked her what he was doing while all of this was happening? She began to smile, she told me he just sat there with his arm around her not saying a single word until she finally stopped sobbing. Then he jokingly said ” Wow happy to see me huh?”
Jane just laughed at him. Then they went back into her house. She poured him a drink, then went to the bathroom to clean her face. She came back out, and Tarzan was sitting on her couch looking through a photo album that had been lying on the coffee table. He motioned for her to come, and sit beside him. She began to profusely apologize to him when he shook his head to let her know there was no need to apologize. Then he said ” Can you explain to me what just happened there?” Jane told him that she thought she was ready to date again. She joked that after all Ex-hubby had been dating for almost two years now.
Jane told me that Tarzan just sat there listening to her as she went on endlessly telling him everything that had gone on since the moment her Ex had announced he was moving out. Tarzan smiled (according to Jane in the sexist way ever) then said “So the idea of rubbing me in his cheating cradle robbing face would be an excellent fuck you back gesture.” It wasn’t a question, it was a statement of understanding. She nodded, quickly realizing that she was using him as a weapon rather than actually being interested in dating him. She started profusely apologizing again.
Jane told me he held his hand up in a stop, no need to apologize gesture again. Then told her ” I get it Jane. I thought about how satisfying it would be to see his face when he saw us together again. I liked it too.” Then he told her that as great as that would be that he was hoping to be more than her revenge guy. He told her that he couldn’t believe he was still pissed that his best friend moved in on his first love, and married her. Even if he had been an immature cheating bastard. Jane said once again he had delivered this to her while grinning in a way she found overwhelmingly sexy.
She told him that she wasn’t ready to jump back into a serious relationship. He laughed telling her that he got that too. She ended up pulling out leftovers from the “frig”. They sat at her kitchen table talking until one in the morning. Jane said it was like getting to know a stranger with all the comfort of knowing that deep down inside he wasn’t. Of course I asked her if there was at least a good night kiss. She said “No just a warm peck on the cheek.” She looked a little worried for a second, so being the good friend that I am I teased her a bit. I asked her aren’t you a little old to be playing hard to get? 😉

 

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by blahpolar on January 29, 2016 - 2:17 pm

    Awwwwwwwwww

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on January 29, 2016 - 9:03 pm

      You have to feel badly for the uncontrollable sobbing (So not like her), and for him having to witness it all. I just hope he is who he seems to be. What do you think? G-uno

      • #3 by blahpolar on January 29, 2016 - 9:07 pm

        I think he sounds like a good guy

        • #4 by idioglossiablog on January 29, 2016 - 9:12 pm

          Good, that makes me feel better. I don’t know why I keep getting these skeptical thoughts. G-uno

  2. #5 by esperance on January 29, 2016 - 2:42 pm

    This is so cute.

    • #6 by idioglossiablog on January 29, 2016 - 2:44 pm

      Thanks, Jane is walking into a whole new chapter. 😉 G-uno

  3. #7 by KcRambles on January 29, 2016 - 4:08 pm

    So, does this mean they will see each other again? 🙂
    I really hope it works out for her, weather it be with Tarzan or another guy.

    • #8 by KcRambles on January 29, 2016 - 8:03 pm

      I mean whether

    • #9 by idioglossiablog on January 29, 2016 - 8:52 pm

      They are going out this weekend. 🙂 I think she has had to do so many things now as a single woman that she felt like going out with someone would be easier than she imagined. As angry as she is at her Ex they were married over 30 years, and she was very much in love with him. I think that even something as awful as an affair does not erase that kind of love. Thanks for being on her side, she’s really great. G-uno

  4. #10 by Polysyllabic Profundities on January 29, 2016 - 5:29 pm

    That is so sweet. I have just rekindled a friendship after 25 years of not seeing each other and that description of getting to know a stranger with all the comfort of knowing he wasn’t is so true. 🙂 I hope it goes well for them both.

    • #11 by idioglossiablog on January 29, 2016 - 8:56 pm

      I love it too. I think you touched on something really important. It is rekindling a friendship. After all they were in their teens when they dated. Over three decades have gone by. I don’t think anyone remains the same. I get the feeling she’s ready to see who he is now. G-uno

      • #12 by Polysyllabic Profundities on January 29, 2016 - 9:00 pm

        Oddly enough…..I don’t think I would have been friends with the same person 10 years ago. We have so much more in common now and it’s wonderful getting to know who he is now.

        • #13 by idioglossiablog on January 29, 2016 - 9:10 pm

          That’s good to know. I’ve been married so long I can’t imagine starting over with someone else. I am still friends with a lot of people that I shared friendships with back then. Then I have spent time with others who are of very little interest to me now (vice versa I’m sure 😉 ), but dating someone would be completely different right? G-uno

  5. #14 by Rita on January 30, 2016 - 4:29 am

    So far, so good! I like that he read her so well and just went with the flow of her emotions. I hope they try again.

    • #15 by idioglossiablog on January 30, 2016 - 10:14 pm

      He did seem to read that well. They are going out Saturday so we will see how that goes. 😉 G-uno

      • #16 by Rita on January 30, 2016 - 10:33 pm

        I hope well.

Leave a Reply

