She’s Got Bette Davis Eyes (G-uno)

From the moment I entered her room her dark large piercing eyes seemed to look right through me. She’s a tough old bird whose gray hair, and failing lungs were the only thing old about her. I knew she was sizing me up by the look she gave me. In her gruff voice she told me to sit down. I instinctively knew that I had passed the first of many of her rigid requirements.

She asked me if I knew she was dying. A question poised in a way to see my reaction, as well as, gauge my ability to be truthful. I told her”Yes.” Her “Bette Davis Eyes” flickered a quick smile, but her facial expression remained stern. Then she asked me why I had chosen working with dead people as my career? Ā I smiled at her, and replied “My job kind of ends when you die.” She laughed.

Then she said seriously “Why the dying?” Her “Bette Davis Eyes” searching mine for a truthful answer. I said “I don’t work exclusively for those who are dying, but fate seems to throw me in that direction quite a bit.” She said “Oh God your not one of those Hippie freaks are you?” I laughed, and said “No.” Bette proceeded to tell me what ticked her off about all her other assistants. It was a pretty long list, but I listened patiently.

When she finished she asked me if I was paying attention. I told her yes then I reassured her by reciting back the list of her pet peeves. I told her that her list was reasonable, and jokingly asked her if she wanted to hear my list? Bette laughed again, and said okay we will give this a try, but I’m short on time so don’t expect me to put up with any crap.” šŸ˜‰

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rita on March 30, 2016 - 2:33 pm

    I’m loving Ms. Betty Davis Eyes

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on March 30, 2016 - 2:38 pm

      I started working for her last month, and I’m just getting around to posting about her. She’s a massive trip with a haunting life story. šŸ˜‰ G-uno

  2. #3 by Jay on March 30, 2016 - 7:35 pm

    It’s kind of a relief to get to that point in your life when you justdon’t have to care about anything that’s not near and dear to you.

    • #4 by idioglossiablog on March 30, 2016 - 7:56 pm

      I agree Jay. From my experiences with end of life clients they all do seem to adopt that outlook. At this juncture in life they become very focused on reviewing their past, and settling their present. I can’t begin to tell you all the important things I have been taught by those who truly make the choice to live directly in the moment. They have changed me in the most profound ways.
      G-uno

  3. #5 by g2 on April 15, 2016 - 7:08 pm

    I love this woman.

Leave a Reply

