movies that epitomize my “era”, whatever the hell that means (g2)

Spawn asked not too long ago how I would describe my “era.” They were referring to the scene of things when I was still a kid, I guess as a point of comparison for their own.

I told them it was grunge rock, goth, coffee, conversation and lots of plaid. I also declared I couldn’t wait until the style was revived because it was awesome and extremely comfortable.

I was accused of being a goth in high school. I didn’t define myself this way and the only thing I can think is that I liked to wear black mostly, dyed my hair weird colors and I was extremely pale. I’m still pale and I still wear lots of black and  even dye my hair as weird as I can get colors, yet when I tell anyone about the old moniker, they laugh. Adulthood sucks like that I guess.

I tried to think of a couple movies that were most like the social dynamics during that time. I was a big Brat Pack fan back then, but it wasn’t my era, mine came later. I also never understood why the “poor kids” in the John Hughes films seemed to have nicer houses than mine and most of the people I knew.

the_breakfast_club

 

 

Only two really came to mind, Singles and Reality Bites.

 

p14225_p_v8_aa “Dammit, Janet… you rock my world.”

 

51mza7cf81l

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Évian is naive spelled backward.”

 

They don’t have a massive deep message, they are rom-com situations within copious amounts of coffee, sarcasm, vintage-looking clothing, awesome music, rough and slightly messy but cute haircuts and long hair, fighting “the man” or saving the world and trying to get by without making it look like you care about having anything because money is bad.

I laugh because they both remind me of friends and myself through those years, high school, college and first jobs. We knew everything and the world just needed to pay attention so we could fix the stupid shit and move on to bigger problems.

I see many differences in the world now and the world then, but they’re subtle. The way we relate to our world, and one another, has changed. We no longer think we’ve sold our soul to have a nice house, but I do miss the simplicity. We were a lot different than the generation that followed, the one I refer to as the EW (Everyone’s a Winner) generation.

I also miss the passion. Not the relationship kind, because fuck that noise. I mean the passion for causes, things that I was completely and utterly emphatic about I can no longer even recall. It’s been an incredibly long time since I’ve felt any level of that ferocity and its usually been directed to a teacher I felt was picking on my kid.

I thought Spawn of course would ooh and ahh or laugh  or show disgust about some of this, I joyfully pointed out the cameos by Tim Burton and Rob Zombie, or related the actors to ones they knew (“there’s Zoolander”). But after watching both of these films, their only comment was:

“So not a lot different, huh?”

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rita on April 21, 2016 - 10:26 am

    I love this! Huge Hughes fan over here 😊

    • #2 by g2 on April 21, 2016 - 1:26 pm

      Did you ever notice the houses? I mean, most of the ones the reject/poor kids always lived in were sp damn cute, I wanted to move in with them.

      • #3 by Rita on April 21, 2016 - 1:34 pm

        I did!

  2. #4 by g2 on April 22, 2016 - 5:31 pm

    ok I’m curious, if you have to name 1 or 2 movies that marked your “time” what would it be?

    • #5 by idioglossiablog on April 22, 2016 - 10:19 pm

      Easy one for me. Grease, and Saturday Night Fever. 😉 G-uno

      • #6 by g2 on April 25, 2016 - 3:55 pm

        ok, out of those three movies, what character did you most identify with and why?

        • #7 by idioglossiablog on April 26, 2016 - 10:56 am

          Lol really none of them. Those just happened to be a couple of the wildly popular movies during that time.;) G-uno

Leave a Reply

