Tarzan Proposed To Jane (G-uno)

Yesterday’s luncheon to put our heads together to plan Jane’s daughter’s wedding turned into a complete nightmare! Originally we planned to meet at Jane’s house for lunch, but Tarzan told Jane he wanted to help out by having all of our girls over to his house instead. He wanted to cook lunch for our bunch so we could focus on putting this wedding together since we have all of five whole weeks to do so. The wedding will be on Saturday June 25th, 2016.
Jane was thrilled, and we were too because Tarzan is a stellar cook! When we arrived at his house we were quickly greeted by paper wedding bells on the front door, and when we went inside the theme was perfectly clear. This lunch was wedding themed from the appetizers right on through to the dessert.
We were each given a glass of Sangria, and led to a beautiful dinning room table complete with a beautiful flower arrangement. We were served scallops wrapped in bacon (screw the full length mirror!), then we were served grilled fish with Saffron rice, and a beautiful spinach & Feta cheese salad. All of us were gushing over Tarzan’s delicious food. We joked that we were annoyed with Jane for making him where clothes to serve our lunch. We all know that Tarzan is predominately a nudist. Jane joked back that she would share his cooking, but not anything more.
We were throwing the wedding details together like absolute pro’s, and then came the dessert. A miniature two layer wedding cake, with a tiny cupid sporting an engagement ring on the tip of it’s arrow, and a sign around it’s neck that read “Jane will you marry me?” As the rest of our group sat wide eyed mouths opened, Tarzan had knelt next to Jane’s chair I looked up at Jane’s face as the words “no” came out of her mouth in what seemed like slow motion. I froze.
Tarzan in complete shock stood up, and said” no? ” Tarzan ran behind her completely in shock while the rest of us looked at each other in complete disbelief over what we had just witnessed. I don’t think in the history of time our little Sangria filled group had ever sobered up so quickly. Jane pulled out of Tarzan’s driveway in record time. He walked back into the house looked at all of us, grabbed his keys, got into his car and left.
We tried repeatedly to call Jane. She wouldn’t pick up, so I texted her and told her Tarzan left too right after she did. Jane texted back that he was not with her, and that she was okay. Then she asked us to give her some space. So we all cleaned up our lunch. We put the cake back into the refrigerator (no we didn’t eat it but there was some discussion about that too), but mostly we were all still stunned. We left Tarzan a note saying thank you, and sorry. Then we locked up, and left.
I tried calling Jane several times today between my jobs. I guess I’m just going to have to give her some space.

 

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by KChica on May 16, 2016 - 8:42 pm

    Omg! :/ I feel so bad… Poor Tarzan, my heart is broken. But I do get where Jane is coming from.

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on May 16, 2016 - 8:51 pm

      I’m right there with you. 😦 I’m also a little confused because he knows Jane has been scared about the whole relationship thing right from the start. He looked wrecked, but so did she! G-uno

  2. #4 by Rita on May 16, 2016 - 8:58 pm

    Holy Shit! I don’t even know what to say. I’m so sorry for all of you, G-uno. My heart is hurting big time for them both.

    • #5 by idioglossiablog on May 16, 2016 - 9:05 pm

      Thanks Rita. I’m train wrecked over here. I can’t call Tarzan, or Jane’s daughter until I talk to Jane. Jane’s not talking so here we are wrecked. The timing couldn’t have been worse. I drove by Tarzan’s house so I could accidently catch him in the yard. 😉 No car, and blinds were pulled like when we locked up the house. G-uno

      • #6 by Rita on May 16, 2016 - 9:06 pm

        Oh, honey. I’m so sorry. I truly home Jane’s OK. She must just be soooo overwhelmed. So fearful.

        • #7 by idioglossiablog on May 16, 2016 - 9:12 pm

          To be fair it’s only coming up on 6 months since Ex-hubby walked out the door. I hurt for Tarzan, but if I were in Jane’s shoes I’m pretty sure I would have done the same. Our whole little circle feels like that too.
          😦 It was just too fast. It’s so messed up. G-uno

          • #8 by Rita on May 16, 2016 - 9:14 pm

            Exactly! I suppose he sees this as just righting a wrong or the way it should have always been. Perhaps he just couldn’t see that she would see it any other way.

          • #9 by idioglossiablog on May 16, 2016 - 9:19 pm

            Excellent point. Things have been so great between the two of them lately. Maybe the whole timing thing didn’t even register. I know Jane’s embarrassed more than anything. Even though it was just us girls, but she would never purposely publicly hurt him. He had her backed into a corner so to speak. G-uno

          • #10 by Rita on May 16, 2016 - 9:38 pm

            Seems like it. I just really hope they can talk and get beyond the embarrassment. They seem to have so very much fun together. Jane sure has had an awful lot thrown at her in the last year. Her little heart must be spinning out of control. I hope you can smile again soon too. It hurts when your sisters-of-the-soul hurt.

  3. #11 by oceanswater on May 16, 2016 - 9:18 pm

    I don’t blame her, this was way to quickly and He should have done it in private…

    • #12 by idioglossiablog on May 16, 2016 - 9:23 pm

      Agreed, he misjudged the timing completely. He’s never been married so maybe it was this great leap for him. Never stopping to think that she would not be ready. I really won’t know until I hear his side. Jane’s daughter’s engagement is already starting out with a bang. 😦 G-uno

  4. #13 by g2 on May 18, 2016 - 2:50 pm

    Wow, he gets massive kudos for his romantic abilities, but… wow. This started off sounding like he was auditioning to be the caterer just so he could be included, but…wow.

    And yet he was shocked he was turned down? wow. I’m saying this a lot.

    It took me two years to really recover from my divorce and I’d been wanting out for a couple years before I left. Even now, I still have issue with the whole marriage thing. And stealing limelight from her daughter?

    yeah, Tarzan really bit the big one on this. I feel for both of them. I hope they manage to talk this out and recover.

    • #14 by idioglossiablog on May 18, 2016 - 10:29 pm

      It was brutal g2, all the way around. I’m heading over to Jane’s this evening so I may have some more to share. G-uno

Leave a Reply

