why am i on the same side as the haughty yankee? (g2)

Ok, so we have a new kid in our department from up north. My first impression was when they asked me “oh…. so you were educated in the south?” in a tone that sounded like they were smelling poop at the same time.

….

If you move to the south and work among Southerners, looking down at the education system that produced those around you… not a cool way to make friends. True, I think the education system sucks too, but I don’t think its confined to just the South. I pretty much have a nationwide hatred of the education system.

Up until this point, I had never in all my years used the word “yankee” to refer to anyone. I believe “haughty ass yankee” was actually my term.

So I was pretty rough with the new kid. They took the beating. In fact, for every sarcastic remark, they had one of their own in return.  Unlike others who might take this as an affront, I actually grew to respect the little shit on some level. I can’t help liking someone who doesn’t back down.

They were the choice of one of our VP’s. In fact, it tends to get pretty nauseating the amount of gushing over the new kid that goes on. To this VP, I’m little more than an idiot, so I’m thankful we don’t really interact too much.

This particular VP is mentally on the same page as one of the owners. For example, when this VP finds something stupid, she says “that’s gay.” This has been nails on chalkboard for as long as I’ve been here.

She once went on a diatribe about how offensive “goddamnit”, was to her. I couldn’t stop myself when I responded, “you find one word offensive but you have no problem offending at least 10% of the population and creating a hostile work environment by calling anything you find stupid,’gay’?”

I didn’t hear the phrase come out of her mouth for a while.

The new kid however has of course eaten up the praise, they’re new of course they do, but not been revolting about it either, at least. They have also been extremely open about everything, which is another thing I can always like in a person. Like sharing stories of their once-divorced lesbian sister who resides with her current spouse and two kids right next door to their mom. Considering the South is still really just adjusting in many ways to the thought that some people are even gay (something I don’t understand since there was quite a few gay, lesbian and bi in my high school), this was a welcome breath of fresh, diverse air.

However, a few days ago, the VP and the co-owners were making cracks about how badly they wanted to use the bathroom for the opposite gender. I brushed it off as end of the day stupidity, but then the VP wanted to go on some tirade about the school districts putting in place rules that allowed transgender kids to utilize facilities for their chosen (this word annoys me, but I can’t think of a better one to get my point across) gender.

The VP started to rage that if they had kids they would never allow them to use the same bathroom as someone “like that” who wanted to “dress up as girls or whatever” and “they needed to be kept from the rest of the kids.”

I was horrified.

I was speechless.

I suddenly want to erase the entire South off the face of the planet in the hopes the national IQ might rise. It took me a long while to stop staring her like a circus freak.

The new kid piped in. “We just need to not talk about this issue… AT ALL.”

It shut the VP down especially considering this came from their golden child. I looked over at the kid and realized we both had similar burning expressions.

Then they turned to me and said “I’m guessing we’re on the same page on this one?”

“Indeed.”

, , ,

  1. #1 by idioglossiablog on May 16, 2016 - 8:46 pm

    I like the “Yankee!” 😉 G-uno

  2. #2 by Rita on May 16, 2016 - 10:57 pm

    Yes!!!!

  3. #3 by g2 on May 18, 2016 - 2:43 pm

    I admit, like the yankee too. Made a shit first impression, but I have to admit, some of my closest friends and I started off hating one another. I don’t know how that works.

Leave a Reply

