Never Could Read One Book At A Time (G-uno)

It occurs to me that I live my life the same way I read books. I have never been able to read just one book at a time. In the insect world I would be a butterfly. Not because I am extraordinarily beautiful, but because I go through life fluttering from flower to flower. I’m not sure if this a form of attention deficit, but I do know that I enjoy never being stuck onto just one flower.
In my career I have chosen a job that let’s me flutter into someone else’s garden where I have a front row seat to a person’s entire lifetime. I come in just long enough to be able to read their life’s story, and in doing so I become a part of their final chapter. Jane once asked me how I could take losing so many in a life time? The answer to that question is easy for me. I have the privilege of being there at a point in a person’s life where they are reviewing every single moment of what was important to them in this life.
It’s a lot like walking down a beautiful stretch of the beach. Each memory is a shell that we stop to examine. Some of the shells are exquisitely beautiful memories. Some of them are not so beautiful, they are broken from the harsher moments in time. Others are beautiful shells that went unnoticed at the time they surfaced, but became easily recognized later on when they were given a second look. Make no mistake each shell is of equal importance along this walk in time.
Maybe it goes back to having to have dealt with so much death so early on in my life. I have always been fascinated with all the unanswered questions of our existence. I’ve come to accept the fact that there are so many things that we have no control over in this life. I find that strangely comforting. Being a part of each of my client’s journey makes me feel like I have a more useful existence. I can comfort them. I can make them laugh. I do a lot of listening, and the common thread with each, and every one of them is that life is a complicated journey.
I am the same with my family, and my friendships. There are so many different flowers in my garden, and I flutter back & forth between them all. I savor the sweetness of each one. I enjoy their unique differences. Somewhere in the back of my mind remains the thought that someday when I approach my final final chapters it might just make a great story for someone else’s book. 😉
, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rita on May 17, 2016 - 12:56 pm

    Absolutely beautiful ❤️

  2. #5 by g2 on May 18, 2016 - 2:59 pm

    I am completely on page with you on this G-uno. My cousin teased me for never paying much attention to TV shows, but I’d always tune in when it came to commercials, especially ones with funny bits. It’s probably why I enjoy twitter. Small, quick, digestible bits.

    I am currently reading three books, a record low for me…. oh, and a manga. That counts right?

    You apply this to helping people walk their last stretch in the happiest way possible, or finding new methods and reasons to launch in life, finding their own superpowers and giving them honor.

    I think I apply it to my relationships, unfortunately. I want the front row seat, I want to know, to listen, and to understand. Then I want to leave to hear another. ;P

    Though friendships, I may be distant, busy, distracted, but I have never thought of relinquishing anyone and they tend to stay in my thoughts a lot.

    • #6 by idioglossiablog on May 18, 2016 - 10:34 pm

      I hear you, and I mange to hold on to them even after they leave this world. 😉 G-uno

Leave a Reply

