Ex-hubby Is Coming To The Wedding (G-uno)

Not matter how badly we are capable of screwing things up we all have that deep down need to know that our bad actions do not completely cancel out our good ones. I am a huge fan of second chances, mostly because I’ve been known to screw things up quite royally  myself. As strong as Khaleesi has been I know that having her father not attend her wedding would deeply hurt her. My feeling is that behind this awesome warrior is a little girl who needs to know that daddy will still put her above his own personal desires.
Of course I would never been able to predict any of Ex-hubby’s recent behaviors so it never left my mind for a single moment that my little invitation to him, and his girlfriend might blow up in my face. Try to keep in mind that before all of this Ex-hubby, and I were almost like family. So I decided to invite him, and his girlfriend to lunch. I’m pretty sure that the only reason they both showed up was because this is the very first invitation she has received since she decided to steal Jane’s husband, and no I haven’t forgotten that I was treading on some dangerous territory here because of my love for Jane.
I arrived early so I saw the two of them as they came up the sidewalk. Ex-hubby looked a bit less self righteous than the last time I saw him. She was wearing a pair of tight fitting jeans, and what we call a “wife beater” t-shirt. She was turning the heads of every man, and woman in the restaurant. What she lacks in inner beauty she more than makes up for it in physical beauty. I stood up to hug Ex-hubby, and I extended my hand to her. I thanked them  both for coming.
She is so young, and I wasn’t sure if she was unaware, or simply unphased by how the rest of us see her. I had been very up front with my invitation by saying I wanted to discuss the wedding so they knew, well at least he did that I would be getting straight to the point. I had already made up my mind to approach her since she is absolutely calling the shots here.I began by saying that it’s time now for everyone to find a way to live with one another, and I feel like we have a golden opportunity before us to make a new beginning.
I told them I was aware that all of this must be extremely difficult for them as well. She nodded at me between checking her phone for messages. She is no Khaleesi, but I’m sure this little lunch was extremely uncomfortable for her. I kept my eyes on her, and I told her that as much as she would like to be a part of her boyfriend’s life (boyfriend felt odd coming out of my mouth, and I had to really focus on my facial expressions as I spoke) I would ask her to put herself in Khaleesi’s shoes regarding her mother.
She checked her phone again. This time Ex-hubby put his hand over the screen, motioning for her to put it down. She did then I said that she had a chance to be the hero in this situation. I told her that by encouraging Ex-hubby to attend this wedding without her she would be letting him be a part of a moment that would stay with him, and his daughter for a life time. I told her that you know he has chosen to respect your relationship above all else in front of Jane, and all of us. She was smiling, completely pleased about this fact. Then I told her that Ex-hubby would never go without her. She smiled again this time stroking his face like a reward for being a good boy.
Yes, I know I am a shameless manipulator, but all is fair in love, and war right? So I went further to say that perhaps Ex-hubby could attend the ceremony staying for the first dance, and a bite of cake, then politely excuse himself. Ex-hubby started to speak, and she gently held her fingers over his lips looked towards me, and said “I think it’s a good idea.” Ex-hubby who is no dummy darts a stern look in my direction. He sees right through me.
I desperately wanted to seal the deal at this moment so I quickly divert my attention back to her saying “I don’t expect you to decide now, I’m sure you both need some time alone to discuss this together.” She immediately says ” no it’s okay,” turning to him placing both hands on each side of his face” I think you should go.” Then she checkers his lips with several baby kisses while I fought the urge to bust out laughing.
We finished our lunch, and she happily told me about their plans to go  to Hawaii this summer. I get that she is so beautiful, but I could not relinquish the thought that she is no Jane. 😉
, , , , ,

  1. #1 by g2 on June 3, 2016 - 12:37 pm

    snort he had to tell her to put her phone down… like a child… oh yeah, this is a relationship made to stand the test of time.

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on June 3, 2016 - 6:26 pm

      g2 you know me I was doing everything within my power not to let my facial expressions blow this for me! The weird thing is that he has lost some weight, and actually looks happy. I just can’t imagine swimming in the kitty pool again. The scenery is lovely, but I need the mental stimulation even more.G-uno

  2. #3 by KC on June 3, 2016 - 1:08 pm

    Wth! How old is she again? I’m sorry but she acts like an entitled little girl. I’ve been her age, you have too, and I don’t think many of us acted, or would have acted in such a way in a lunch meeting. I know people younger than her that are more mature. Maybe the petting was just a show, I don’t know.
    I feel embarrassed for him to be honest.
    But I’m glad you found a way for him to go.

    • #4 by idioglossiablog on June 3, 2016 - 6:21 pm

      LOL it is embarrassing, but not for me. 🙂 She is 24, and quite happy with her situation. I’m not sure it was a show, but I am sure she knows how to work Ex-hubby. G-uno

  3. #5 by Rita on June 3, 2016 - 1:42 pm

    Darlin’ if I were standing there I would hug you soooo tight. This is pure unselfish love for a young woman who is already having to learn how to get beyond her father’s betrayal of her mother – but is also a girl who might never be able to get over what she will most certainly feel is a betrayal of herself as well.

    I personally think all little girls (warrior or otherwise) hold fast to the idea of their Fathers being their heroes.

    Job well done!

    • #6 by idioglossiablog on June 3, 2016 - 6:18 pm

      Huge smile on over swelled head from everyone’s kindness. It was planned manipulation on part, but I am overjoyed by the outcome. Your so right we all want our dads to be our heroes. I’m proud of Ex-hubby for not standing his ground. He was always a great dad. One tiny detail I left out… Jane & Khaleesi don’t know anything about my lunch with them. Thanks again! G-uno

  4. #8 by Brian on June 3, 2016 - 4:25 pm

    Very well played G-uno. Especially the bit about working the right person. Wonder how she feels about being younger than her potential step daughter? Wonder how the ex feels about that. ?

    • #9 by idioglossiablog on June 3, 2016 - 6:10 pm

      Thank you Brian shameless manipulation at it’s best. 😉 Regarding how she feels about being younger than her step daughter.. to quote Oceanswater “She is a sugarbaby, and they don’t care about anything except what they want.” Ex-hubby knew how old she was going in, and Jane is like the rest of us pretty weirded out. G-uno

      • #10 by Brian on June 4, 2016 - 1:19 am

        Shameless, eh. Manipulation, sure. But it turns out to be the best possible outcome. Who’s to argue? Regarding the age difference, Khaleesi’s “we aren’t inviting children . . .” just cut to the bone. Brilliant statement really.

        • #11 by idioglossiablog on June 4, 2016 - 1:27 pm

          LOL Brian I’m fearless that way. 🙂 Mr G-uno walks around shaking his head a lot of the time. Everytime I look at the wedding pictures of our daughter with her father I am overwhelmed by the love between them. There was just no way I could let Khaleesi’s wedding album miss out on those moments without trying to get her dad to come. Khaleesi was daddy’s girl from day one. I think she is humiliated by the girlfriends age. G-uno

Leave a Reply

