W.W.S.D.What Would Sam Do? (G-uno)

 

I must admit to you all that with so much of my mind being preoccupied with thoughts of Sam the massacre in Orlando has taken a huge toll on me emotionally. I am dazed by the mass destruction one individual can cause in the lives of so many. I also have to believe that if one person is capable of so much change then if the rest of us band together we could be even more powerful, more impacting in a positive way. Acts of terror are designed to daze, and intimidate you. We are all being emotionally abused by those who have a clear understanding that fear is an effective way to try to control the masses.
The problem is that they think we are helpless, even worse that we are lazy. I love seeing the mass support for the law officers who risked their own lives for the sake of helping others. I love the massive show of love in the social medias for those who paid the ultimate price for simply being who they were. I know that those who choose to terrorize us use this outpouring of unity as a way of gaining publicity for their deplorable actions. I believe it is one of the most sinister acts of manipulation.
They believe that long after we have all moved on to the next crisis that they will have won because the horrific act will never be able to be erased from our history. They are counting on the fact that people will turn their heads because the people who share their bigotry against the gay community will mourn this atrocity, but then fade back to their lives where this may not affect them directly.
This is something that I have also been guilty of doing. I care deeply, but often feel powerless to make necessary changes. I think when we label abuses with the words that are adjectives describing the people who have been abused we unknowingly create a division amongst  ourselves. Maybe it’s time to point out the biggest truth in this unforgivable act of terror. The truth is that innocent, tax paying, law abiding, loving, fellow AMERICANS were attacked in their own country.
I’m not sure what the solution is for this horrific loss, but I am sure that if one person can create such a negative impact then more than one person can make an even larger impact. We owe it to our fellow AMERICANS to carefully, and peacefully find a way to make sure their lives were not taken in vain. Monuments are beautiful expressions of honor, but we must go many steps farther. United we can make as much of a lasting impact in history as one person filled with misguided hatred did.
, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Karen Lee Kleis on June 14, 2016 - 1:14 pm

    Excellent post. Thank you!

  2. #2 by tmezpoetry on June 14, 2016 - 6:41 pm

    We all are processing honestly and openly. I contemplate much that has been said across the internet and moving through it as well as my own emotions like you are doing here. Sometimes I want to take the quick messages of hope, love, beauty and scream…Wait, at least let me process first and get real with my thoughts and emotions. I thought this morning how these types of tragedies are often on top of what heavy burdens people already carry in their life. I thought about how people suddenly stopped following me on wordpress for processing out loud before I get my bearings and the pages of chastisement (for the general public) about how we must all come together with good messages without realizing, this is a part of coming together. This is a part of the validation process in all our different views. This is a part of our processing together though differing opinions. All of it is ok because it is not about right or wrong in processing, it is about listening and speaking the heart. The changes we grow in making are simply, perceptions in allowing people to be part, right where they are and with what they hold as much as we can manage that without forbearing additional riggers on our emotions. So much thinking this morning and I love your post.

    • #3 by idioglossiablog on June 14, 2016 - 7:08 pm

      You make an excellent point! People care deeply, and perhaps it is the most we can do sometimes. I think I am stuck on my desire to find a way to negate this horrific act of violence. Like all the many others out there my frustration lies in finding a solution. This is the trouble with being a fixer. 🙂 Personally I understand the anger so many feel. Anger is a way of self protecting one’s self from pain. I’m sure each person who was lost has left behind an important legacy that will forever be with those who loved them. I’m just finding it difficult to even entertain the idea that the man who is responsible for changing our history might be more remembered for his deplorable actions than the good people who lost their lives. Thanks for weighing in on this post. It’s always helpful to hear someone else’s point of view. G-uno

      • #4 by tmezpoetry on June 14, 2016 - 7:14 pm

        I like you processing here with me. Thank you or that. No feelings are right or wrong, that is the beauty of them. And I agree with you about how this is all remembered…sigh. You’re not alone in muddling somehow through this without all the answers 🙂 Thanks for letting me hang out on your thread.

  3. #5 by milesmb3 on June 15, 2016 - 4:25 am

    Something interesting happened to me yesterday; I was sitting in traffic, trying not to cry (again) about the destruction of lives in Orlando. Through my foggy eyes, I saw a man walking down the median with a sign that took his entire wingspan to support. The sign was written in plain black marker. It said, “Have no fear. You are loved.” Nothing else.

    Like you, I don’t know exactly how to respond to the massacre in Orlando. I also don’t know how to respond to the messages of hope and unity that are rippling out from such a dark impetus.

    The truth is that I have zero hope that the world (in my lifetime) will be free of random acts of hatred and destruction, such as the Orlando Massacre. I have zero hope that my loved ones will ever be completely safe from the reach of violent extremism.

    So what do I do? Love them as much as I can while I can, try to pour as much meaning and color into their lives as I can while I can, hope to God that no harm comes to them while I’m alive…

    But those are all things that I should be doing anyway.

    Is that the proper emotional response to an event like the Orlando Massacre? Is it just a wake up call, to remind us of what we should be doing anyway?

    • #6 by idioglossiablog on June 15, 2016 - 11:31 am

      I have the chills just from reading your beautiful words. I am a huge believer in signs, and what a beautiful sign you were given! “Have no fear you are loved.” With a sign like that we can all be reminded that there is hope. I think that Sam was such a hero to me because his entire life was surrounded with the worse kind of abuse,and bigotry. He always had hope, and found a way to pull out the positive. Maybe the only positive here is the huge reminder that we have the opportunity to “pour as much meaning and color into our lives as we can.” I am uplifted, and comforted by your beautiful words. Your existence gives me hope. Thank you so much. G-uno

      • #7 by milesmb3 on June 15, 2016 - 2:38 pm

        Wow! Thank you so much for your support. It is uplifting to make a connection with someone, especially when so much of the dialogue around this tragedy is divisive, like you said.

        Who is Sam? I’m not familiar with him, but he does sound like a hero!

        • #8 by idioglossiablog on June 15, 2016 - 10:24 pm

          Most welcome completely my pleasure. I’m sorry I have written 3 post about my very good friend Sam here recently-The Demon You Know, -Boones Farm & The Railroad Tracks-and Rosanna Rosanna Danna. Lol I listed them in order so if your interested I can avoid confusing you any further. 😉 G-uno

  4. #9 by g2 on June 17, 2016 - 7:41 pm

    Here’s hoping that 3 yr old son of the shooter, when he grows up and finds out what his dad has done, devotes his life to being a more positive force of change.

Leave a Reply

