Mr G-uno, And I Have A Thing Going On (G-uno)

Anyone who’s been in a long term- relationship can tell you that nothing’s perfect, and if they do admit that to you they are probably in a really good one. For some love is not enough to glue two people together for a lifetime. Then for others a lifetime would not be long enough. In spite of all the trials & tribulations that come with sticking to a commitment you once made when your heart was overflowing with love, and stars danced in your eyes. I like the quote that says a good marriage is just two people who have decided to love each other no matter what. I know that’s not exactly the wording, but you get the point.
Thirty-three years ago Mr G-uno, and I said I do in his grandmother’s little church in front of 200 guests. Only one family member was actually mine, but the truth is that to this very day all I remember is the way he looked at me as we said our I do’s. We were late getting to the church because we decided to wake up early, and go to the beach before the actual ceremony. We laughed, and played in the sand until we finally realized we only had an hour to get ready.
So with one quick shower together, no hair stylist, or makeup I marched down the aisle to begin a life I could never have anticipated. There have been moments when I could actually have floated above the ground with happiness. There have been moments when I could have gotten in my car, and drove away never looking back. It has never been perfection, unless you can appreciate the grandness of two people holding on to each other just to be able to wake up next to each other for one more morning. For me that is as close to perfection as a marriage can be.
Knowing that no matter how good, or how bad things may be you’ve built a life that would never mean as much to you if it had not been shared with the other. 😉
“I love you without knowing how, or when, or from where.
I love you straightforwardly without complexities, or pride;
so I love you because I know no other way than this:
where I does not exist, nor you,
so close that your hand on my chest is my hand,
so close that your eyes close as I fall asleep.”

Pablo Neruda

 

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by oceanswater on August 23, 2016 - 12:59 pm

    Very sweet!❤️❤️❤️

  2. #3 by Kay on August 23, 2016 - 1:10 pm

    This is beautiful! I very much agree. We do! I love the sentence toward the end, beginning, ‘It has never been perfection…’ Yes!!

    • #4 by idioglossiablog on August 23, 2016 - 1:13 pm

      Thanks K, spoken like a kindred spirit. 😉 G-uno

      • #5 by Kay on August 23, 2016 - 1:16 pm

        We’ve only been together 23 years, but I’d like to think we are!

        • #6 by idioglossiablog on August 23, 2016 - 1:19 pm

          Congrats 23 years speaks loudly! G-uno

          • #7 by Kay on August 23, 2016 - 1:29 pm

            And congrats to you. Thanks for sharing your lovely story! Have a wonderful day. 💜

  3. #8 by Jay on August 23, 2016 - 3:56 pm

    Happy thing!
    It truly is a thing to keep it together for any length of time. Anyone call fall in love. It’s the through thick and thin part that distinguishes the great loves.

  4. #10 by Rita on August 24, 2016 - 2:40 am

    Happy, happy anniversary my friend. You said it all. It is a journey like no other and worth more every day. Love to you both ❤️❤️

    • #11 by idioglossiablog on August 24, 2016 - 10:11 am

      Thank you Rita. I know that you absolutely know the path! 😉 oxox
      G-uno

      • #12 by Rita on August 24, 2016 - 12:32 pm

        I do and it’s an amazing one indeed

  5. #13 by Robert Matthew Goldstein on August 25, 2016 - 7:54 pm

    Such a gorgeous post! I tell people that love is nothing like a love song…many people are on a quest for the fantasy. The reality is that if you are lucky to have love you will also get the human being that comes with it. And we all know how much trouble they can be!

    I’ve nominated you for the Make It Ultra Blogging Award.
    Please understand that you are under no obligation to accept
    the Award.

    To find out more about the award click this link: http://wp.me/p47Ymh-4N3

    • #14 by idioglossiablog on August 26, 2016 - 11:15 am

      Robert thank you so very much for your kind words, and your nomination. I appreciate your point of view even more, as I know you also truly understand having been in a very long-term relationship of your own. I prefer to think of us all as warriors of love lol. Mr. G-uno should get a an award for putting up with me 😉 G-uno

      • #15 by Robert Matthew Goldstein on August 26, 2016 - 4:46 pm

        Yeah…It’s great to look at someone after two decades and feel the same way you felt when you met him.

Leave a Reply

