“My Life In Ruins” G-uno

I know why the Greek “Gods” frolicked on the Acropolis in ancient Greece. It was because there is something magical about standing on top of that mountain overlooking all of Greece. At the risk of being completely partial I think it’s one of the most beautiful places in the world. Being there breathes new life into me. My family has a lot to do with that without a doubt, but one would have to be in a coma not to pick up on the undeniable vibrations of something different in the atmosphere.
Stumbling around the ancient ruins you can’t help but notice the looks on the faces of every passing tourist. The complete, and utter look of awe. This was not my first trip through the ancient ruins. I was born there, and have returned there four times before. This was my fifth visit, but my first since the Greeks had begun to remove the ruins. They have built a fantastic museum to both recreate, and preserve the Parthenon in it’s original state of being. They actually uncovered a buried city while constructing the new museum. They brilliantly decided to uncover, and showcase the ruins beneath the new museum with clear flooring. So as you walk through the new museum, you can look down at the view of the newly discovered treasures below.
I think you need three full days to fully explore every part of the museum the way I would want to explore it, my family votes two. No matter how many times I have seen the ruins I find myself utterly drawn to them. Even though I am a huge fan of the new museum I felt the loss of  not seeing the Parthenon in it’s original birthplace. I felt a sadness for all those who had missed out on climbing up the Acropolis, and feeling the thrill of laying their hand on the side of the magnificent stone where billions of others had rested their hand before. On each of my prior visits, I sat across from the Parthenon watching each person who had reached the top do exactly the same thing.
I have often wondered if our hands laid where the ancient greats hand’s once laid. I like the idea of my hand resting in the same place as theirs. I love sitting in the outdoor cafes at the base of the great mountain sipping Greek coffee while staring up at the great ruins people watching, imagining what it must have been like so many years before. I can’t shake the feeling that although the surroundings have changed over the many years the essence of the people remains the same. 😉

 

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kay on October 4, 2016 - 11:08 pm

    I dream of visiting! It sounds amazing. 💜

    • #2 by idioglossiablog on October 5, 2016 - 10:56 am

      Thank you 🙂 I hope you do get the chance to go. G-uno

  2. #3 by Rita on October 4, 2016 - 11:30 pm

    This is fabulous. Thank you for sharing.

    • #4 by idioglossiablog on October 5, 2016 - 10:55 am

      Thank you Rita 🙂 I need to catch up on everything that’s going on here. How are you? G-uno

  3. #5 by chickensconsigliere on October 5, 2016 - 1:18 am

    I would love to see it all and you describe it beautifully, which is the next best thing, I guess.

    • #6 by idioglossiablog on October 5, 2016 - 10:54 am

      Thanks Chicken 🙂 there are some amazing deals out there for traveling. Especially if you go off season. I think the trick is to spend 2-3 days in Athens then hit the islands. It took me five years of some very conscious minded saving lol. G-uno

  4. #7 by oceanswater on October 5, 2016 - 2:26 am

    It’s truly one of my favorite places to go. I’ve been there three times. I agree with you, that it is magical. I too wonder what it must have been like to be there in that time. ~Sigh~

    • #8 by idioglossiablog on October 5, 2016 - 10:51 am

      It’s kind of magical right? Did you make it out to the Islands while you were there? G-uno

      • #9 by oceanswater on October 5, 2016 - 3:00 pm

        Yes, we spent one trip just on the islands. Absolutely beautiful. How lucky you are to be from such a place!

        • #10 by idioglossiablog on October 7, 2016 - 11:47 am

          Aahh then you do understand how lucky I am. 🙂 G=uno

          • #11 by oceanswater on October 7, 2016 - 12:48 pm

            Indeed I do. ❤️🎃

  5. #12 by Barney on October 5, 2016 - 10:44 am

    YOUR DESCRIPTION ALONE IS AMAZING, CAN’T IMAGINE WHAT ITI MUST BE LIKE ACTUALLY BEING THERE. I TOO WOULD LOVE TO SItSTARING AT THE MTN. IN AWE AND PEOPLE WATCH,JUST A LITTLE ENVIOUS! 😀 BARN

    • #13 by idioglossiablog on October 5, 2016 - 10:50 am

      Thank you Barney 🙂 There’s just something about it…G-uno

  6. #14 by Brian on October 5, 2016 - 4:03 pm

    You do make it sound magical. One of these days . . . .

    • #15 by idioglossiablog on October 7, 2016 - 11:46 am

      LOL I can’t take credit for the magic, I can only tell you it’s there. 😉 G-uno

Leave a Reply

