Voting Perspective From A Woman With Alzheimer’s (G-uno)

Ms. Lee is not your average 82 year old woman with Alzheimer’s. She remains intelligent in her ability to analyze life based on years of her own experiences. The conversations we share on our outings to the “Cracker Barrel” have become some of my most treasured conversations. Her ability to separate her own personal experiences with racial indignities reveals one of the most insightful and intelligent personalities I have ever known.

So out of complete curiosity I had to ask Ms. Lee her thoughts on the upcoming election. This is not a conversation I have invited anyone else to have with me .  I am always open to adult opinions of our candidates. I have no desire to sway, or disrespect another person’s point of view.

We finished our early breakfast, and as has become our routine we went out to the front porch of the restaurant to find two rocking chairs to share our conversations of the morning. For me it’s like being a child again on the front porch of my grandmother’s home. For Ms. Lee it’s the front porch of her childhood home in Mississippi.

Ms. Lee continues to watch the news, speeches, and debates. I opened our conversation by asking her opinion of both Mrs Clinton, and Mr.Trump. She rocked for a bit giving my question some careful thought. Then she said with a huge smile”This has been something to see hasn’t it?”

She began by speaking about Mr, Trump. ” You know I don’t think this man is the devil.” Smiling at me she continued “But I don’t believe he ever thought he would actually be a candidate either.” I asked why she felt that way, and she said “I don’t know exactly, but it’s a feeling I get whenever I watched him speak. I think a man who has lived such a grand life runs out of new experiences. I think he liked the idea of seeing how far this would take him. She began to laugh out loud  “He always looks a little surprised like a mischievous little boy who just got away with something.” “I think he’s gone so far with this he didn’t know how to turn back.”

Then I asked her about Mrs Clinton. She smiled at me again, and said ” I think she’s a very smart lady. An ambitious woman who has managed to survive in a man’s world. It takes great courage, but the price to be paid may be much higher than she realizes.” Ms. Lee rocked some more. Then she turned to me, and said ” Isn’t it funny how everyone who walks into that position with such high ambitions comes out realizing it’s an impossible dream whether they have good intentions for our country, or strictly for themselves?”

Ms. Lee saw the look of concern on my face. She reached over. and patted my hand. “Don’t you worry child, no matter who gets elected they are never really in charge.” This time I laughed. 😉

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kay on October 22, 2016 - 2:16 pm

    Wise woman, indeed! And what cherished time that is. I’m so happy you get to do that with her.💜

  2. #3 by SpiritualJourney17 on October 23, 2016 - 3:13 am

    Mrs Lee is definitely a wise lady. These are memorable times to savor.

  3. #5 by Polysyllabic Profundities on October 23, 2016 - 8:52 pm

    Very wise. I have missed reading your blogs. I’m glad the seasons are changing and I get some of my life back!

    • #6 by idioglossiablog on November 3, 2016 - 9:47 pm

      Thank you so much. I have also been frantically running behind. I enjoy reading yours! G-uno

  4. #7 by Brian on October 24, 2016 - 2:35 am

    She nailed it. If she can put together reasoning like this when she has dementia, just how good was she before this affected her? Wow.

    • #8 by idioglossiablog on November 3, 2016 - 9:43 pm

      It really is uncanny right? She absolutely blows me away! G-uno

  5. #9 by Jay on October 28, 2016 - 6:26 pm

    It sounds like she has distilled some genuine realism.

  6. #11 by Robert Matthew Goldstein on November 4, 2016 - 1:21 am

    She’s right…the President is in charge. In the U.S. Congress most of the real power.

    • #12 by idioglossiablog on November 4, 2016 - 1:28 am

      Agreed! It’s just so shocking that she can discern that, but has so much trouble with seemingly lesser thought processes. I just adore her! G-uno

Leave a Reply

